MY PET HUMAN BOOK REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY

by Janet Blue on October 9, 2015

my pet humanIf you are a cat parent, you probably have been adopted by at least one cat sometime in your life. That’s exactly what happens in My Pet Human, written and illustrated by Yasmine Surovec. Though totally in black and white, the simple, yet masterfully drawn illustrations grace all 112-pages, making this a true “picture” book.

As the story begins, we meet Mr. Independent, an adorable, stray, tuxedo cat. He revels in his carefree lifestyle; though, he must remain constantly on the lookout for the animal control officer. Kitty prowls his territory where he has the places he can find and mooch food. And he has friends in the neighborhood, Ben the dog, Farrah the cat and George the mouse, who tell him what it’s like to have a home and humans. But our independent cat has no interest and feels sorry for his friends as they do not have the freedom he finds so satisfying.

 

my pet human

When a family moves into an abandoned, neighborhood house, our fellow decides to check things out. Smelling macaroni and cheese topped with tuna through an open window and having missed dinner the night before, puss goes to investigate and meets a young girl.

To find out more about our friendly tuxedo cat, his new family, and how he and the young girl bond and “save” each other, you’ll have to read the book.

Written for six- to ten-year-olds, Surovec’s book is an excellent teaching tool with lessons about cat “rescue” and care. Nonetheless, any adult with a love for cats will enjoy it as well.

my pet human Surovec is the artist behind the popular blog, Cat vs. Human. Her other picture books are, I See Kitty and A Bed for Kitty. You can also find her on Facebook.

My Pet Human is available on Amazon in Kindle, paperback and hardbound versions.

The Cat on My Head is giving away two paperback versions of My Pet Human. For the opportunity to win a copy, leave a comment on this post prior to Friday, October 16, at 5 p.m. EDT. Winners will be selected using Random.org.

Today is the last day to leave a comment for the opportunity to win a copy of Max Cryer’s book, The Cat’s Out of the Bag. This giveaway ends at 5 p.m. EDT today. Click here to leave a comment.

Share this:
LadyBird October 30, 2015 at 9:26 am

Here’s my review of the book!! We loved it!! https://libraryofcats.wordpress.com/2015/10/30/my-pet-human/
Thank you again!!
LadyBird recently posted…National Cat Day!!My Profile

Pam October 16, 2015 at 1:09 pm

Anyone who lives with a cat or two or twelve knows what a delightful time it can be. Writing about them is probably the most fun ever!

Brenda(Aspen) October 20, 2015 at 12:40 am

Hi, I am Scout Aspen, a furry friend of Mau and his Bakery! Yes, we, is, me, Aspen, my Scouts Sisfurrs Willow, Mango
, and Tigger, pluses our Moms would love to read this Book! “TheCat’s Out of the Bag” our funniest incident is when Moms took giant White Willow to Petco to visit Santa! Willow got away from Moms and Willow ran around Petco and hid under some shelves! Willow hates Santa! She was afraid, due to her giant size and German Shepherd-sized paws, she would be dropped off at the Island of Misfit Cats& Toys! But, of course, Willow was brought home!

Jennai October 15, 2015 at 3:09 am

My son would love this book. He is such an “animal person.” I wouldn’t mind reading it myself first (just to check it out, of course!)

Susan Kline October 15, 2015 at 1:35 am

Sounds like fun! I’d love to win a copy.

Rosa @ Cat Lady Confidential October 12, 2015 at 10:47 am

I love Yasmin’s blog and I have her first book titled Cat vs Human like the blog. I would love to win a copy of this book!
Rosa @ Cat Lady Confidential recently posted…12 Amazing Halloween Costumes For Your CatMy Profile

Peaches & Paprika October 11, 2015 at 7:34 am

Mac and cheese topped with tuna would surely lure ANYONE! Sounds like a pawsome read! We will recommend it to OUR pet human.
Peaches & Paprika recently posted…Happy Autumn from Peaches & PaprikaMy Profile

Maxwell, Faraday & Allie October 10, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Very cute illustrations!
Maxwell, Faraday & Allie recently posted…The Big Backpack BattleMy Profile

Deb Barnes October 10, 2015 at 1:45 pm

What a lovely book!! We love anything Yasmine does!
Deb Barnes recently posted…A Cue from the Cats – Finding the Extraordinary in the OrdinaryMy Profile

meowmeowmans October 9, 2015 at 10:31 pm

What a cute book! We are glad there are books like this one to help teach kids about rescue animals. 🙂
meowmeowmans recently posted…(Almost) Wordless Wednesday – Gabe! 🙂My Profile

Cathy Keisha October 9, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Sounds like a cute little book. Sticky little human is only 3 but I bet she’ll like it.
Cathy Keisha recently posted…Funtastic Fall Foto FrenzyMy Profile

Ellen Pilch October 9, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Looks like a cute book- this 46 year old wants to read 🙂
Ellen Pilch recently posted…Follow Friday Four Fill-In Fun and MoreMy Profile

LadyBird October 9, 2015 at 7:06 pm

What a fun book!! We would love to have a copy!!
LadyBird recently posted…It’s National Mad Hatter Day!!My Profile

The Island Cats October 9, 2015 at 6:47 pm

What a cute book. We’re glad to see these kind of books for kids to teach them more about rescue.
The Island Cats recently posted…Making Up For Last WeekMy Profile

Sherri-Ellen T-D. October 9, 2015 at 6:12 pm

A story aftur mee own heart Lady Janet an Kittiess Blue! Mee picked LadyMum to adopt mee, mew mew mew…
Shee said shee did not know what hitted her 😉
Mee wood luv to reed this story fur sure….
***paw patsss*** Siddhartha Henry an a (shell shocked) LadyMum xxxxxxx
Sherri-Ellen T-D. recently posted…Thee Weekly ‘Scoop’ frum Siddhartha HenryMy Profile

Flynn October 9, 2015 at 5:18 pm

That sounds like a sweet book.
Flynn recently posted…Eric’s Day Flashback – Jungle Cat.My Profile

Canadian Cats October 9, 2015 at 5:16 pm

This sounds like a cool book.

Shoko
Canadian Cats recently posted…Legend of the Mountain AshMy Profile

Katie Isabella October 9, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Oh I would love to win a copy. And I have been adopted several times in the past. It seems as though it is a loving story.

BeadedTail October 9, 2015 at 3:18 pm

That looks like a very charming and fun book! How nice you’re offering a giveaway!
BeadedTail recently posted…Finally FridayMy Profile

Brian Frum October 9, 2015 at 3:11 pm

That looks so cute and I love, love, love the title!

Annabelle October 9, 2015 at 2:35 pm

That was a pawsome review for an adorable book.
Annabelle recently posted…That Poor MonkeyMy Profile

Deziz World October 9, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Well dat looks and sounds weally cute. Gweat review and cliffhanger.

Luv ya’

Dezi and Lexi
Deziz World recently posted…Goin’ To The VETMy Profile

Beverly J. Harvey October 9, 2015 at 12:27 pm

I love the kitty’s commentary on taking a bath! Cute story.

Linda Arthur Tejera October 9, 2015 at 9:02 am

Sounds like a very cute book. Perfect for the grandkids! 😀
Linda Arthur Tejera recently posted…Nurturing ThursdayMy Profile

Bev Green October 9, 2015 at 8:25 am

Sounds like a wonderful book with a great message as well as a fun story 🙂 Mr Independant indeed a character i am sure a lot of us have met before 🙂 Loves Fozziemum xx
Bev Green recently posted…Fly day FridayMy Profile

Sammy October 9, 2015 at 7:10 am

Great book review……another adorable cat book and it sounds like it would be a fun read for ALL ages!!

Hugs, sammy
Sammy recently posted…Happy FridayMy Profile

Summer October 9, 2015 at 3:20 am

This sounds like such a cute book!
Summer recently posted…10 Cool Halloween Etsy Items for Humans and CatsMy Profile

Pipo/Minko/MrJackFreckles October 9, 2015 at 3:11 am

That sure would be a good read!

Sue October 9, 2015 at 2:44 am

How awesome to read about a cats perspective!

prancer pie October 9, 2015 at 1:36 am

What a neat perspective for this book! We bet it’s a great read.
Happy Friday, sweet furriends.
XOXO
prancer pie recently posted…Punkin Patch FridayMy Profile

Emma and Buster October 9, 2015 at 12:38 am

Mr. Independent sounds like the neighborhood kitty here.
Emma and Buster recently posted…Tuxie ThursdayMy Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: