TO CATCH A CAT REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY

by Janet Blue on July 11, 2016

To Catch a cat book jacket.Though I love cats and kittens, I never thought I could fall in love with a mother cat (Oona) and her three kittens sight unseen. But that is exactly what happened when I read Heather Green’s book, To Catch a Cat. The book interweaves the story of Heather’s and boyfriend Matt’s first foray into kitten rescue and socialization and Heather’s memoir. You learn the intimate details of Heather’s fears, foibles and perceived shortcomings all while meeting and falling head over paws for kittens, Zero, Two Spot and Number Three.

The story begins when Matt and Heather discover three tiny kittens living in Matt’s neighbor’s backyard in Union City, New Jersey. Manhattanite and workaholic Heather and laid-back architect Matt take on the task of rescuing these kittens. First Matt builds an outdoor shelter for mom and babies. Then the waiting for the right time to capture the kittens begins. Once the kittens become indoor residents, the socialization process starts and continues until just the right homes are found for the three. During this process, Matt and Heather learn about feral cats and trapping and Heather learns about herself.

This is a book you don’t want to miss. It is definitely for anyone who has ever loved or rescued a cat, but it is also for every animal (regardless of species) fan or caregiver. This uplifting story of  discovery, love, devotion and emotional growth will touch your heart.

My only complaint was the lack of photos in the book. But do not let that keep you from reading To Catch a Cat. Head over to @ToCatchaCat on Facebook to see photos and videos of these darlings as well as photos of other kitties saved by Heather and Matt.

To Catch a Cat

Heather Green and mom cat Oona

Heather Green is an award-winning journalist and free lance writer. For 12 years she covered the Internet and digital media for BusinessWeek and has appeared on CNN, CNBC and BBC. This is her first book.

The best part of this post comes in the way of a giveaway for this gem of a book. I have three copies to give to our readers. As I am doing the mailing, I will ship worldwide. That means, everyone can enter. To do so, please leave a comment on this post no later than 5 p.m. ET on Saturday, July 16. Winners will be selected using Random.org.

10:30 AM Update

I just received these adorable photos of the kittens and wanted to share with everyone.

Screen Shot 2016-07-11 at 10.11.13 AM To Catch a Cat

Clockwise from upper left: Zero, Two Spot, Number Three, Number Three, Two Spot.

 

Nicholas A. Landa July 18, 2016 at 5:09 am

I’m waiting for your book. I believe it will be great.
Nicholas A. Landa recently posted…The Most Suitable Time To Transfer Chicks From Your Brooder To A Chicken CoopMy Profile

Timmy Tomcat July 16, 2016 at 10:02 pm

This sounds like the kind of book we like read to us at story time. Can’t wait.
Timmy and Family
Timmy Tomcat recently posted…Happy Birthday Timmy TomcatMy Profile

Timmy Tomcat July 16, 2016 at 10:00 pm

They are all so cute. We will grab a copy and read the adventures. Purrs Kitties
Timmy Tomcat recently posted…Happy Birthday Timmy TomcatMy Profile

Lavinia Ross July 16, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Sounds like an excellent book, Janet. Thank you for bringing it the attention of your readers. Living between 2 feral colonies and a number of them are residents here now, I can certainly relate!

Phyllis S July 16, 2016 at 12:07 am

Thanks for the chance to win this lovely book!

Hannah and Lucy July 15, 2016 at 4:22 am

We would love to have a copy of this book please.
Hannah and Lucy recently posted…MeanderingMy Profile

Jennifer C. Butler July 12, 2016 at 7:40 am

Since I’m a cat lover. I really love your book. Sound interest. And also the picture, aww so cute!

meowmeowmans July 11, 2016 at 10:59 pm

This book sounds fabulous! We definitely want to read it. Sweet Swizzle says hi, and sends lots of snuggles, headbonks and kisses. 🙂
meowmeowmans recently posted…Easy Like Selfie Sunday – BuddiesMy Profile

Canadian Cats July 11, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Fantastic review. This book is definitely on the list for Story Time. The updated pictures of the kittens was an added bonus.

Shoko
Canadian Cats recently posted…Friendly Friday Fill Ins with KaliMy Profile

Ellen Pilch July 11, 2016 at 9:53 pm

This was a great book! Please don’t include me in the giveaway as I was already lucky enough to get to review it.
Ellen Pilch recently posted…It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?My Profile

McGuffy's Reader July 11, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Oh! I have to get this book!
McGuffy’s Reader recently posted…Board?My Profile

McGuffy's Reader July 11, 2016 at 8:48 pm

The comment went in before I was done…this reminds me of my stray matriarch, Echo. She was amazing. I definitely want to read this book. Thank you, as always. HUGS!
McGuffy’s Reader recently posted…Board?My Profile

Deziz World July 11, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Great review. Fanks fur your question ’bout Service Cats. As we’ve already posted da furst lesson, we won’t be repeatin’ it next week, but we will be talkin’ further about massage in future posts. You can read da fust lessons here. https://dezizworld.com/2016/07/06/service-cats-how-to-train-kitty-to-massage-without-claws/

Luv ya’

Dezi and Raena
Deziz World recently posted…Service Cats: Smelling DiseaseMy Profile

Maxwell, Faraday & Allie July 11, 2016 at 7:25 pm

That does sound like a great book!
Maxwell, Faraday & Allie recently posted…What Happens When Faraday’s Bored, Episode 1My Profile

Stephanie B July 11, 2016 at 5:44 pm

I would’ve to read this book, sounds inspiring

Joanne July 11, 2016 at 4:30 pm

I would love to give this book to my husband. He did TNR and rescue, adoption for over a dozen years in our small town. No kittens in 6 years! Bless them for stepping up!

Three Chatty Cats July 11, 2016 at 3:45 pm

Thanks for updating with those adorable kittens! This sounds like a worthwhile read, for sure!
Three Chatty Cats recently posted…A Fostering Story with Karen HillMy Profile

Brian July 11, 2016 at 1:38 pm

That does sound like a very good book!
Brian recently posted…Mancat Monday: It’s Too Darn Hot MiscellanyMy Profile

Lola The Rescued Cat July 11, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Mommy has this book to review, so we won’t enter, but we loved your review! She can’t wait to read it now.
Lola The Rescued Cat recently posted…Sunday Selfies With WillMy Profile

Raven July 11, 2016 at 11:29 am

Sounds like an interesting and heartwarming book. Good to know there are photos online (I would have wanted some in the book too).
Raven recently posted…Monday naptimeMy Profile

Annabelle July 11, 2016 at 11:20 am

What a lovely story and that book sounds really good!
Annabelle recently posted…Mancat MondayMy Profile

Linda Arthur Tejera July 11, 2016 at 9:26 am

Reminds me of my first foray into kitties. I told a vet tech friend that hubby and I would help bottle feed three kittens that were dumped on her doorstep. That was 15 years ago and one is still with me. Prior to that, I had never been around cats in my entire life. Now I can’t imagine being without! Go figure! LOL! 😀
Linda Arthur Tejera recently posted…Here in AmericaMy Profile

The Island Cats July 11, 2016 at 8:18 am

This sounds like a great book! The mom has added it to her very long reading list. 🙂
The Island Cats recently posted…Garden Center MancatsMy Profile

Sue July 11, 2016 at 7:43 am

That is so cool! And it’s a great way to learn too!

The Menagerie Mom July 11, 2016 at 7:36 am

This book sounds like such a great, endearing journey. My family and I rescued Thimble and her brothers when they were 3 weeks old, and ever since then I’ve become addicted to animal rescue. Thank you for this wonderful review, and for giving us the chance to win a copy! Purrs! (We’re still sending lots of purrs and prayers Fiona’s way!)
The Menagerie Mom recently posted…Mancat Monday: The Doorman IIMy Profile

Sometimes Cats Herd You July 11, 2016 at 6:07 am

This sounds like a very sweet book. Rescuing kitties for the first time is always a learning experience for everyone!
Sometimes Cats Herd You recently posted…Lost Cat PreventionMy Profile

Sammy July 11, 2016 at 5:56 am

Sounds like a very sweet book…….we agree though that photos always bring a story to life. Love the name Oona….

Hugs, Sammy
Sammy recently posted…Pre-Tease MondayMy Profile

ATCAD July 11, 2016 at 5:46 am

That sounds like a terrific book. And we agree they needed pictures.

We are so sorry we forgot to put your cute badge on our Sunday post, we have included it now. We love your badge it always makes us MOL, cause we loves to get on our Mommy’s head, and we point to it and say see Mommy we belongs there.
ATCAD recently posted…Mancat Monday with Yang & SocksMy Profile

Flynn July 11, 2016 at 5:45 am

That sounds like a lovely book.
Flynn recently posted…Sunday Selfies.My Profile

Flynn July 11, 2016 at 5:46 am

Yayyy!!! WP is accepting my comments today 🙂
Flynn recently posted…Sunday Selfies.My Profile

The Swiss Cats July 11, 2016 at 3:04 am

Great review ! That sounds like a good read ! Purrs
The Swiss Cats recently posted…3 conseils pour aider votre chat à passer un bon étéMy Profile

Beverly July 11, 2016 at 2:24 am

Such a wonderful review. Sounds like a great read for the summer. 🙂

Summer July 11, 2016 at 1:09 am

This sounds like such a charming book!
Summer recently posted…Bathroom Selfies, InterruptedMy Profile

Linda Szymoniak July 11, 2016 at 12:18 am

We have several feral cats in our neighborhood (down from more, thanks to a rescue being able to TNR some of them). However, one managed to have some kittens under the neighbors’ shed and I had heard meowing on the other side of our fence. Unfortunately, an animal or something managed to kill two of the kittens, but when I went to check, there was one little calico kitten just sitting in the area between the shed and our fence. I reached out and she let me pick her up. That was on Wednesday. We’ve named her Kotoha (from a Japanese manga/anime my daughter and I like) and I’ve had to learn how to feed kitten formula to her. She’s the most precious little girl – only 2-3 weeks old. We lost our senior Maine Coon boy, Koneko, in February (and also lost two dogs over the past 15 months). We’ve been talking about adopting another dog and cat, but just hadn’t found the right ones. I feel almost like it’s fate. Even one of our other cats, who typically doesn’t like other cats, it doing great with her!

mommakatandherbearcat July 11, 2016 at 12:11 am

What an incredible story … can’t wait to read the book!
mommakatandherbearcat recently posted…Sunday Selfie #6My Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: