THEY CALL ME DESTINY BOOK REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY

by Janet Blue on August 14, 2015

Disclaimer: The Cat on My Head received two free copies of They Call Me Destiny, one for review and one to give away. We received no monetary compensation nor were we told what to write about the book. The opinions expressed here are ours alone.

destiny

Two young cousins, Margo and Cory, find a nearly dead kitten curled in the gutter next to her cold and lifeless mom. They rescue the little kitten and take her to a chicken coop in the girls’  grandmother’s yard to keep her safe. When they can, they bring her food but keep her existence a secret from the adults.

When the kitten is discovered, the girls convince their relative Fern, to become her “mom.”

They Call Me Destiny is written in an undated journal format by Destiny. (Brooks claims that Destiny wrote it in Italian and she translated.) It is the story of what occurs during that first year of Destiny’s life. But it is not just Destiny’s story. It is also about her human parents and their turbulent relationship. As all cats are, Destiny is very observant and perceptive when it comes to the actions and feelings of her humans.

Destiny’s many adventures, mostly when her family is vacationing at the beach, take place at night when she is allowed to roam the dunes alone where she searches for other feline companionship. The story takes place in the early 60s. Attitudes about cats being quite different then explains why Destiny was allowed to spend her nights outside meandering and exploring without ever having been spayed.

I won’t say more as I do encourage you to read They Call Me Destiny. To give one lucky reader of The Cat on My Head the opportunity to do just that, Kitties Blue will be giving away one copy of They Call Me Destiny. To be entered, leave a comment on this post prior to 5 p.m. EDT on Wednesday, August 19. The winner will be selected using Random.org and announced on Thursday.

In addition to enjoying reading about Destiny and her “family,” I was delighted to find the book had many black and white photos of black panther, Destiny. As a bonus feature the book also includes the first five chapters of the second book in the series, Destiny’s Children. It was just enough about Destiny and her litter of seven kittens to make me want more. I cannot wait to read book two.

To learn more about this award winning actress and writer, Fern Field Brooks, click here or here.

 

Canadian Cats August 19, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Pooh! You see mom, you are so slow we missed out! Hope you enjoy it.

(((Shoko)))
Canadian Cats recently posted…Flat Shoko Has Left CanadaMy Profile

Brenda(Aspen) August 16, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Hi, I am girl Cat Scout Aspen. I am a Siamese/Snowshoe Mix & I am age 10. I have 3 other Sisfurrs who are all Cat Scouts. These are my Sisfurrs:Scout Willow, Age 6; Scout Mango, Age 4; and, Scout Tigger, age 4. We don’t blog yet. We have sampled Mau’s Bakeshop goodies. And, we asked Denmaster to start Hello Kitty Lovers social group for us four Sisfurrs. Our Moms loves to read. And us cats would love tp

Brenda(Aspen) August 16, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Hi, I am girl Cat Scout Aspen. I am a Siamese/Snowshoe Mix & I am age 10. I have 3 other Sisfurrs who are all Cat Scouts. These are my Sisfurrs:Scout Willow, Age 6; Scout Mango, Age 4; and, Scout Tigger, age 4. We don’t blog yet. We have sampled Mau’s Bakeshop goodies. And, we asked Denmaster to start Hello Kitty Lovers social group for us four Sisfurrs. Our Moms loves to read. And us cats would love to be able to Gift this Book to her because she treats us so well!

Harvey, Miranda and Silver August 16, 2015 at 5:01 am

Ooooh man this sounds GOOD!!!! Hope we win!!!
Harvey, Miranda and Silver recently posted…Sunday Selfie with HarveyMy Profile

Pipo/Minko/MrJackFreckles August 15, 2015 at 11:29 pm

That sounds intriguing.

Raven August 14, 2015 at 10:44 pm

That sounds like an interesting book. I’m just finishing up another series and this looks like a good one.
Raven recently posted…Purrfect CaturdayMy Profile

Ellen Pilch August 14, 2015 at 9:11 pm

That sounds like a good book, I need to add it to my Goodreads list.
Ellen Pilch recently posted…Cat Scout Felix FridayMy Profile

The Island Cats August 14, 2015 at 7:09 pm

The mom needs to add this one to her already very long reading list. 🙂
The Island Cats recently posted…Formerly Feral FlashbackMy Profile

Lola and Lexy August 14, 2015 at 5:29 pm

This looks like a wonderful book! Thank you for telling us about it.
Lola and Lexy recently posted…Giveaway ReminderMy Profile

Flynn August 14, 2015 at 5:27 pm

It sounds like a lovely book.
Flynn recently posted…Eric’s Day Flashback – Stalking our prey.My Profile

Austin Towers August 14, 2015 at 5:21 pm

I would imagine we don’t qualify, but thanks for the heads up and great review :))) xx
Austin Towers recently posted…A Seismic Event!My Profile

Linda Arthur Tejera August 14, 2015 at 4:33 pm

What a cute kitty! The book sounds delightful! 🙂
Linda Arthur Tejera recently posted…Cee’s Black and White: Hands, Feet or PawsMy Profile

meowmeowmans August 14, 2015 at 4:16 pm

That sounds like a great book. We love when the voice of a book belongs to a cat.
meowmeowmans recently posted…Friends on Friday, and a Special Event!My Profile

Brian Frum August 14, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Destiny sounds like a darn good read!
Brian Frum recently posted…T.G.I.F. Tree GirlMy Profile

Emma and Buster August 14, 2015 at 2:49 pm

We’d love to read about Destiny. What a perfect name.
Emma and Buster recently posted…Other Cats from MykonosMy Profile

Cleopawtra (Becca Cook) August 14, 2015 at 2:07 pm

The book sounds awesome. Can’t wait to read about Destiny and her family. Thanks for this great giveaway.

Sassy Sax August 14, 2015 at 2:01 pm

I would love to read this book. My Max is an indoor only cat. He wants me to read the book too.

Katie isabella August 14, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Yup. Sure right about leaving cats out. I will never ever ever do that again and haven’t since 1998.

Annabelle August 14, 2015 at 12:04 pm

That sounds like a wonderful story!
Annabelle recently posted…ElevenMy Profile

Betty Wells August 14, 2015 at 10:42 am

This looks like it will be an amazing read.

McGuffy's Reader August 14, 2015 at 8:29 am

This sounds interesting! Thanks for the review! ❤
McGuffy’s Reader recently posted…Oh, My!My Profile

Sammy August 14, 2015 at 7:35 am

Sounds like an interesting little story……….so sad to start off but hopefully with a super happy ending.

Hugs, Sammy
Sammy recently posted…Meteoric FridayMy Profile

LadyBird August 14, 2015 at 4:18 am

I would love to read this book!! I might have to fight the Beast for it though! (Beast is my cousin JacK! – I did a post about how he tried to intimidate me!) Love, LadyBird
LadyBird recently posted…I am trying to sleep!!My Profile

Sue August 14, 2015 at 3:22 am

I love books about cats! And this one sounds awesome!

Summer August 14, 2015 at 2:26 am

This sounds like an interesting book! I’d love to hear more about Destiny.
Summer recently posted…Not Loving This Photo SessionMy Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: