SHOP CATS OF NEW YORK: BOOK REVIEW

by Janet Blue on January 6, 2017

Shop Cats of New York

 

shopcatsThis book, written by popular and well-known, cat blogger (IHaveCat.com), Tamar Arslanian, already has been reviewed by many of our friends. If you’ve missed those reviews, here’s your opportunity to find out a bit about this beautiful book. I guarantee you’ll want to read it and add it to your collection of cat-inspired books.

Many of us are accustomed to running across the occasional cat “managing” a local boutique or shop. But few cities have such a large number of felines gracing the  variety of retail establishments as New York.

In Shop Cats of New York, you’ll meet 36 cats “working” in such establishments as a hotel (the famous Algonquin), hobby and flower shops, a wine store and a distillery, a pharmacy and a bookstore, to name just a few.

 

shop cats Andrew Marttila

Kettah is the “mascot” at Bleeker Street Records.

 

Shop Cats of New York features some of the most exquisite photography I have ever seen. Of course, the subject matter makes it almost impossible to take a “bad” photo. Andrew Marttila, the pet photographer from Philadelphia, is masterful in his ability to highlight his furry subjects. The photographer in our family (the kitties’ dad, Tom) was totally impressed by Marttila’s expertise and stunning photos, as was I.

Jack can be found at Wine Heaven in Gramercy Park, Manhattan, resting on his “Jack Lives here” doormat.

If this book only featured Marttila’s exquisite photography, it would be a must “read,” but Arslanian’s polished prose takes it to the next level of excellence, making it a must own.

My only complaint is that a few of the cats were featured only in photographs with no narrative. I wanted to know every detail available about every cat. Fortunately, only a few are missing their biographical information.

If you didn’t receive this must-have book in your Christmas stocking, you can find it at the usual retail booksellers, in stores and on-line.

 

Shop Cats of New York

Charlie, Smoke Scene, Hell’s Kitchen, Manhattan

 

Disclosure: I received one copy of the book, Shop Cats of New York, from the publisher, Harper Collins, for the purpose of review. All opinions and recommendations are my own.

screen-shot-2016-09-18-at-11-12-00-pm

Canadian Cats January 9, 2017 at 8:38 pm

Lovely sounding book and I am looking for a book to read to hubby and the cats. Pictures are lost on those three so I need a story. Have you heard of any good stories? I have read most books on-line with good stories. No sad endings as these books are usually feel good books just before we all go off to sleep.

Jean
Canadian Cats recently posted…The Three Muscateers Make Life In The North…RockMy Profile

Hemingway and Steinbeck January 7, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Mom is totally in favor of having fur people help out in businesses. She used to work in a card shop where the mascot was a wonderful cocker spaniel who kept her company all day.
Hemingway and Steinbeck recently posted…You Can’t Train Humans….and You Can’t Understand Them Either!My Profile

Sabina January 7, 2017 at 10:05 am

I want this book!!!

Pipo/Minko/MrJackFreckles January 6, 2017 at 10:15 pm

This is a book we would love to have, too. So…its now on our wish list, MOL!!

McGuffy's Reader January 6, 2017 at 7:47 pm

I am not sure why my comment did not take, but…great review. I agree: every picture needs info. It is all about the cats! HUGS!
McGuffy’s Reader recently posted…Friendly Fill-ins: Week 35My Profile

emma and buster January 6, 2017 at 6:49 pm

Mom would love to go around photographing cats, as you know, but hardly meets working kitties.
emma and buster recently posted…Flashback Feline FridayMy Profile

Brian January 6, 2017 at 2:09 pm

Tamar is a super cool lady so we know the book is good!
Brian recently posted…T.G.I.F. Three GirlsMy Profile

The Island Cats January 6, 2017 at 1:46 pm

The mom wants to get a copy of this book for sure.
The Island Cats recently posted…Showing My LoveMy Profile

Ellen Pilch January 6, 2017 at 1:24 pm

I need to get this book. I have met Matilda at the Algonquin ( well, she snubbed me) and I would love to meet some of these others.

Caren Gittleman January 6, 2017 at 1:02 pm

Great review and we LOVED this book! the photos are just incredible!
Caren Gittleman recently posted…Friday Friend: “Houston”My Profile

Kitty Cat Chronicles January 6, 2017 at 9:55 am

Looks like a fun book! I always love to hear about resident cats at businesses. Sampy sends a kiss to Astrid for every shop-cat in the world! We all send lots of love <3
Kitty Cat Chronicles recently posted…What Have We Been Up To?My Profile

William's Kith & Kin January 6, 2017 at 9:43 am

Sounds like that is a wonderful book!
William’s Kith & Kin recently posted…Elliott On The Stove.My Profile

Claire January 6, 2017 at 9:36 am

This just showed up on my feedly this morning, I looked through it right before I got to your post!

http://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/charming-portraits-of-hong-kongs-shop-cats
Claire recently posted…December Wrap Up/January GoalsMy Profile

Linda @ A La Cartel January 6, 2017 at 9:16 am

What a fun book!!

Sammy January 6, 2017 at 8:50 am

That’s another thing my Mom loves about our small town…..the owners of all the shops on Main Street bring their pets to work with them…..they often are sitting in the front windows watching the world go by. Cats are PURRFECT “greeters” !!

Hugs, Angel Sammy
Sammy recently posted…Friendly Fill-In Time!My Profile

The Menagerie Mom January 6, 2017 at 8:05 am

I have been hearing so many good things about this book, and now I want to read it even more than before! I will certainly be getting my hands on a copy of it ASAP. Thank you for featuring this sure to be fantastic read (not to mention that it clearly is even just stunning to look at)!
The Menagerie Mom recently posted…TGIF!My Profile

Summer January 6, 2017 at 2:16 am

We loved this book lots!
Summer recently posted…Talk WITH the Paw… or NotMy Profile

mommakatandherbearcat January 6, 2017 at 1:57 am

I’ve meant to get the book and haven’t yet. You’re right … from the few pictures you show, they are amazing!
mommakatandherbearcat recently posted…The stupidity allowanceMy Profile

Pawesome Cats January 6, 2017 at 1:56 am

I’ve been meaning to grab myself a copy of Tamar’s book, it looks like a great read and the photos are fabulous!

Lone Star Cats January 6, 2017 at 1:50 am

Momma luvs stores that have shop cats!
Lone Star Cats recently posted…Wordless WednesdayMy Profile

Angel, Kirby and Max January 6, 2017 at 1:37 am

That looks like a very interesting book. We met a shop cat at a vacuum cleaner shop. She and her sister never leave the shop except for vet visits. Her sister went to the rainbow bridge a couple of years ago. At 14, she still looked like a kitten!
Angel, Kirby and Max recently posted…SaladMy Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: