LOVE IN LOWERCASE BOOK REVIEW

by Janet Blue on February 8, 2016

love in lower caseSamuel is an introverted romantic. He lives alone until a stray cat arrives at his door on New Year’s Day. The cat invites himself inside. After a saucer of milk and being dubbed Mishima, a series of events are set in motion. These bring Samuel into contact with some exceptionally quirky (well-developed) characters.

This international best seller, originally written in Spanish, by Francesc Miralles, delves into Samuel’s burgeoning realationshps with each of these individuals, including Gabriela, who he fell in love with at age six and encounters by chance 30 years later. His ineptitude as a suitor is touching and often a bit heartbreaking. Gabriela is not easily impressed my this strange man who claims to have known her as a child. I’ll leave it to you to find out what occurs in their relationship when you read this romantic comedy.

You’ll also meet editor Titus, Samuel’s upstairs’ neighbor, the enigmatic, bearded Valdemar, the vet Meritxell and the red-haired man whose strange idiosyncratic behavior becomes an obsession of Valdemar and then Samuel.

I am always impressed by well-written books regardless of the subject matter. The prose is exceptional in the English translation of thisnovel. Previously translated into 20 other languages, Love in Lowercase has received glowing reviews from around the world.

love in lowercaseSome storylines in the book are unresolved at it’s conclusion making me hope that Miralles is planning a sequel. And if he does, I’ll be looking for more of Mishima. His role is much too small, especially as he is the catalyst for all that happens.

Author Francesc Miralles was born in Barcelona, which is the setting for Love in Lowercase. He studied journalism, English literature and German. He’s worked as an editor, translator, ghost writer and musician.

Love in Lowercase went on sale on January 26, and you can find it at Amazon.com.

The Cat on My Head will be giving away three copies of Love in Lowercase thanks to Penguin Random House. The giveaway is restricted to U.S. residents (no P.O. boxes). If you live outside the U.S. you may still enter and gift your book to a U.S. resident should you win. To enter, leave a comment on this post prior to 5 p.m. ET on Sunday, February 14.

 

meowmeowmans February 14, 2016 at 12:25 am

Wow, this sounds like such a great book! Thank you for the review, and for the chance to win. 🙂

Marjorie and the Dash Kitten Crew February 14, 2016 at 12:18 am

Glad to win and gift to a USA pal!!

Pipo/Minko/MrJackFreckles February 11, 2016 at 12:29 am

Intriguing and romantic all in one package!

Jane February 10, 2016 at 11:46 pm

I’m always trying to broaden my reading and read more books in translation from other countries, and this sounds like a delightful way to do that!

Ellen Pilch February 8, 2016 at 9:36 pm

That sounds like a great book. You should add this link to the It’s Monday What are You Reading? blog hop.

Raven February 8, 2016 at 8:51 pm

My mom needs to read more and this sounds like a good book.

BeadedTail February 8, 2016 at 8:35 pm

This book sounds like a delightful read! Thanks for the great review!

The Florida Furkids February 8, 2016 at 8:31 pm

That sounds like a super book…thanks for the review!

The Florida Furkids

The Island Cats February 8, 2016 at 6:50 pm

This book sounds like a winner!

LP February 8, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Sounds like a sweet love story!

Drop by our blog and try to guess Wilhelmina’s breed . We are putting together a little care package for the first person who can guess her breed correctly.
Love and hugs all around 🙂

the critters in the cottage xo

Brian Frum February 8, 2016 at 2:18 pm

That does sound good indeed!

Emma and Buster February 8, 2016 at 2:11 pm

So many books that the humans want to read but can’t find time.

Alegria February 8, 2016 at 1:47 pm

I’d love to read this book in either Spanish or English.
Thanks for telling us about it. I hope I win!

Amy Palmer February 8, 2016 at 1:12 pm

Sounds like a lovely story!

Cleopawtra (Becca Cook) February 8, 2016 at 1:10 pm

The book sounds really cute. Something I might read on a quite night at home with a kitty snuggling near me

Rosa @ Cat Lady Confidential February 8, 2016 at 10:06 am

I had never heard about this book or this author, but if it has a cat in it, it must be a great book 🙂
I recently discovered a romance titled “The Guest Cat” by Takashi Hiraide. From the reviews I’ve read the cat plays a much more important role in this book. I’m quite curious about this book and can’t wait to read it. Maybe you’ll find it interesting too.

Linda Arthur Tejera February 8, 2016 at 9:28 am

It sounds like a really cute book, Janet! Hope you all are staying warm! 🙂

Kitty Cat Chronicles February 8, 2016 at 9:18 am

Sounds like a cute book! We’d love to win a copy!
Sampy sends a kiss to Astrid for every book ever, and we all send lots of love!

Stephanie B February 8, 2016 at 6:39 am

I would love to read this. Sounds very interesting!!

Sammy February 8, 2016 at 6:29 am

Well if you enjoyed it – I bet I would!

Hugs, Pam

Sue February 8, 2016 at 3:33 am

Sounds interesting!

Toby February 8, 2016 at 3:03 am

Great review!!! The books sounds really good. I too, love a well-written book regardless of the subject!!!

Lone Star Cats February 8, 2016 at 2:44 am

Sounds like an interesting book!

Summer February 8, 2016 at 2:04 am

This sounds like a very charming book!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: