THE CAT’S OUT OF THE BAG REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY

by Janet Blue on October 2, 2015

Truth and lies about cats

cat's out of the bagI don’t profess to be an authority on cats, but I always thought I knew a fair amount. Then I had the opportunity to read Max Cryer’s book, The Cat’s Out of the Bag. This is a 191-page compendium of everything cat.

Did you know that:

  • 40 percent of cats are ambidextrous?
  • the average cat spends 30 percent of its time grooming itself and loses almost as much fluid through this behavior as it does through urine?
  • Florence Nightingale owned 17 cats at one time and more than 60 in her lifetime?
  • Isaac Newton is credited with inventing the cat door?
  • the white patch on the Turkish Van cat’s forehead is known as “The Thumbprint of Allah”?
  • Shakespeare refers to cats 42 times in his writings, but the cat is not mentioned even once in the Bible?

Have you ever wondered the origins of expressions you use every day, like “Has the cat got your tongue?” or “Curiosity killed the cat.”? Cryer tells how and when these and so many other expressions came into existence. He also discusses the myth of cats having nine lives as well as the nine emotions/behaviors of cats as identified by Jeffrey Masson.

If you live with cats or have even a smidgen of interest in cats, this is a must read. Find out the name of Elizabeth Taylor’s favorite cat, the origin of the game, Cat’s Cradle, and the word for “cat” in 34 other languages. Read poems and quotes about cats and find out where you can go to have your cat mummified.

This is all just a small sample of what you will find in The Cat’s Out of the Bag. Some of the chapters in Cryer’s book are: Idioms, Poetry, Bodies and Behavior, History and Cartoons. And the book is filled with drawings of cats as well.

The Cat’s Out of the Bag is available in paperback and as an e-book for Kindle and Nook.

Max Cryer

cat's out of the bagCryer is a writer, entertainer and broadcaster. He’s had a varied career, including schoolteacher, television host and cabaret performer. His books include: Who Said That FirstEvery Dog has His Day, Preposterous ProverbsLove Me Tender and others.

Giveaway

The Cat on My Head is giving away two copies of Cryer’s The Cat’s Out of the Bag. The giveaway is for U.S. residents only, but you may gift your book to someone in the U.S. should you win but live outside the U.S. Winners will be selected using Random.org. To qualify for the drawing, leave a comment on this post prior to Friday, October 9, at 5 p.m.

Disclaimer: The Cat on My Head received one copy of The Cat’s Out of the Bag for the purpose of review. I was not told what to write. All opinions expressed here are mine alone.

 

Share this:
Brenda(Aspen) October 16, 2015 at 12:53 am

Yes, We definitely would love to win this book. I am Moms to Hello Kitty,Lovers Cat Scouts Aspen, Willow, Mango&Tigger!

Susan Kline October 15, 2015 at 1:34 am

This sounds like a great book! I’d love to win a copy.

Brenda(Aspen) October 9, 2015 at 1:03 am

Mrioaws from Scout Aspen to Scout Mau and his Sisfurrs and Brofurrs! I just got caught wondering what it would be like to have a Brofurr! Well, I will be age 11 this December 22nd, 2015, I am well past wishing for such things. Eighteen long months ago, New Neighbors did something horribly wrong to,Simon Peter,Moms had been slowly taming this intact male. Most likely, the old Apartment A people had fed this feral cat on the back porch! Moms fed (and named) this feral Tom Cat! Its been a little over a year since Simon Peter disappeared! By reporting Simon Peter’s loss to the Landlord. He did attempt to get Simon back. Moms then, late that same night, heard the new Apartment A neighbors screaming at one another at what a stupid idea it was of the man to think he could just come take my cat! Apparently, the new neighbors didnt understand that Simon Peter responded only to Moms! He couldn’t be brought inside some stranger’s home and assume he would play “nice” when invited for tea and Crumpets! Oh, Mom believes Simon to be OTRB now. Moms knows she gave this cat love and she was trustworthy with meals, water, and love!

Moms has a psycho-therapist named Diana. Moms drew Simon Peter twice, and, she gave this Tomcat a strong Apostolic Name! Moms protected Simon Peter also with his name, as Jesus asked, “Who do people say that I am?” Only Simon Peter knew,”You are the Christ, the son of the Most High! Then, Jesus says, “The Holy Spirit has revealed this to you. You are Peter, ie Petros, upon this Rock, I shall build My Church! So, giving Moms was to the Tomcat, giving him the STRONGEST of Names! And, to show loving care to the least of these is show

Mariodacat October 7, 2015 at 4:53 am

It does sound love a book we should read, so please enter us in the drawing. Thank you for this opportunity.

Jean Dion October 5, 2015 at 5:17 pm

That sounds like an amazing book! I hope I win!
Jean Dion recently posted…How will you celebrate #DogWalkingWeek 2015?My Profile

meowmeowmans October 4, 2015 at 11:33 am

That sounds like one fascinating book. We love everything cat, and we bet this would be a fun and informative read. 🙂

Hugs!
meowmeowmans recently posted…Easy Like Selfie Sunday 🙂My Profile

Deb Barnes October 4, 2015 at 9:04 am

We already have this fun book, so you don’t need to enter us, but we really enjoyed reading your review!
Deb Barnes recently posted…Fall is Here! Time for Squirrel Watching on Cat Window TV!My Profile

Cathy Keisha October 3, 2015 at 10:21 pm

OMC! Tonk’s Tail had done a series on those. I hope he didn’t rip her off. I’m sure he didn’t.
Cathy Keisha recently posted…A Stunning Fall FrameMy Profile

Gayle Keresey October 3, 2015 at 2:04 pm

I would love to win a copy of this book. I love cat books!

Connie October 3, 2015 at 9:29 am

That sounds like a good read

Beverly J. Harvey October 3, 2015 at 12:35 am

Hope I’m not too late to enter! I’d love to read this cat book. 🙂
Love your Caturday art, too.

Ellen Pilch October 2, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Great giveaway, I love cat books.
Ellen Pilch recently posted…Kangaroo HoppingMy Profile

Deziz World October 2, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Gweat review. Sounds very innewestin’.

Luv ya’

Dezi and Lexi
Deziz World recently posted…Three Little Words: I Luv YouMy Profile

Canadian Cats October 2, 2015 at 8:11 pm

That does sound like a fascinating book. Could you enter my name and I’ll gift it to someone in the US.

Shoko
Canadian Cats recently posted…Shopping Around the WorldMy Profile

Cleopawtra (Becca Cook) October 2, 2015 at 5:57 pm

This book sounds very interesting. Would love to win a copy. Thanks for the giveaway.

Flynn October 2, 2015 at 5:38 pm

That sounds like a very interesting book.
Flynn recently posted…Eric’s Day Flashback – Climbing Trees.My Profile

Austin Towers October 2, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Sounds a great book!! Lions are mentioned in the Bible and they are cats aren’t they!! 🙂 xoxox
Austin Towers recently posted…Sunday Selfie with Tigger (aka Sparky)My Profile

BeadedTail October 2, 2015 at 4:16 pm

We think we’d enjoy that book very much! Thank you for the opportunity to win a copy!

Purrs,
Angel & Isabella
BeadedTail recently posted…Room with a ViewMy Profile

Rosa @ Cat Lady Confidential October 2, 2015 at 12:40 pm

I don’t live in the US, but I this book is going straight to my wishlist. There are so many things about cats that we don’t know and this book seems like a great source of information.
Rosa @ Cat Lady Confidential recently posted…Crazy Cat Lady Starter Kit #2My Profile

Annabelle October 2, 2015 at 12:13 pm

Those were very very interesting tidbits!
This looks like an excellent book to read.
Annabelle recently posted…LOOTMy Profile

Kitty Cat Chronicles October 2, 2015 at 11:34 am

Sounds like a fun book! We’d like to be entered in the giveaway!
Sampy sends a kiss to Astrid for every cat in the world! We all send love and hugs!

Brian Frum October 2, 2015 at 10:56 am

That sounds pretty cool and we would like to be entered please!
Brian Frum recently posted…Comment on T.G.I.F. Touchy Girl by The Florida FurkidsMy Profile

Linda Arthur Tejera October 2, 2015 at 10:18 am

Sounds like a fun book! Count me in! 😀
Linda Arthur Tejera recently posted…Sally D’s Mobile Photography Challenge: Challenger’s Choice (Architecture)My Profile

lorraine williamson October 2, 2015 at 8:59 am

mom loves books about all cats thanks for the contest moms always entering a bunch have a meowy day
lorraine williamson recently posted…Caturday Art-Fall Colors KittyMy Profile

McGuffy's Reader October 2, 2015 at 8:12 am

This sounds intriguing. I will have to check this out! Thanks for all that you do. ❤
McGuffy’s Reader recently posted…Sharing Wise WordsMy Profile

Sammy October 2, 2015 at 7:24 am

Sounds like a really interesting read! We enjoy ANYTHING cat-related in the reading department……..wonder why that is???!! Maybe because our household revolves around ME ME ME ME!!

Love, Sammy
Sammy recently posted…Finally FridayMy Profile

Sue October 2, 2015 at 4:15 am

You are talking my language! Books and cats! Can’t get any better!

Lm October 2, 2015 at 3:58 am

Sounds like a purrfect read while my Nicko (neeko) makes muffins on my tummy!

Summer October 2, 2015 at 3:39 am

This sounds like an awesome book! Humans can never know too much about kitties!
Summer recently posted…What It’s Like to Adopt a Shelter Pet (Like Binga)My Profile

speedyrabbit October 2, 2015 at 1:42 am

sound a really good book,xx Speedy
speedyrabbit recently posted…Speedy’s Movie Day!My Profile

Lone Star Cats October 2, 2015 at 1:28 am

Sounds like a cool book!
Lone Star Cats recently posted…Wordless WednesdayMy Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: