SOLID GOLD CAT NOMS REVIEW

by Janet Blue on September 8, 2014

[follow_me]

Solid Gold Review

We have three types of cats in our house when it comes to eating canned noms. They are:

1) The clean-plate, I-will-eat-anything kitties: Lily Olivia, Astrid, Calista Jo, Mauricio and moocher neighbor, Sparky.

2) Then we have the I’ll-eat-almost-anything-but-maybe-not-clean-my-plate duo: Misty May and Lisbeth.

3) And finally we have Giulietta and Fiona. Fiona will maybe lick the gravy from canned food. Giulietta will occasionally eat her food but so slowly she is usually nosed out by a speedier eater. Whether or not Fiona and Giulietta eat it, they will always try to bury any canned food. (Fiona also tries to cover the dry food before and after eating it.)

I brought a variety of brands of canned foods home with me from BlogPaws in the hope of finding something everybody liked and would eat. EPIC FAIL.

One thing I knew for certain: None of the kitties like shredded foods. It is pate or the highway.

When I was contacted by Sold Gold Health Products for Pets, Inc. to try both their canned and dry cat food, I eagerly agreed. Solid Gold specializes in the development and manufacture of foods containing no preservatives or saturated fats. Their pet foods are made of USDA Choice meats and grains, like rice, barley, oats and millet, instead of wheat, soy or corn as with many other manufacturers. And Solid Gold is manufactured in the United States.

The kitties taste tested eight different products (six of which are grain- and gluten-free), two dry foods and six canned foods. Because of that, it is difficult to go into great detail here or list all ingredients. Any Information I do not provide can he found on Solid Gold’s website.

All of the cats will hoover up pretty much any dry food with a few exceptions. Solid Gold was not an exception. Solid Gold offers two dry foods for cats: Katz-n-Flocken, which includes lamb and brown rice, and the high protein, grain- and gluten-free Indigo Moon with chicken meal, fresh chicken and ocean fish meal. We received several of the three ounce vacuumed-sealed packets of each, and both were eaten by all with no hesitation.

My challenge I knew would come with the canned noms. Only one of Solid Gold’s canned foods come in pate form. So, I was totally surprised when the others were not universally rejected.

We first tried the pate, Gourmet Cat, a blend of chicken, turkey, whitefish and liver. This is the only one of the canned foods which is NOT gluten- and grain-free. Calista liked it so much and ate it so fast that she hurled shortly after the first serving. She was fine on the other occasions I served it. Giulietta turned it down twice and Fiona once.

They had two favorites: Sardines and Tuna, which was eaten by all of our eight as well as Sparky, and the Blended Tuna, which I served three times. It was turned down only once by Giulietta. I wasn’t surprised that they ate this as their usual, preferred canned food is tuna and white fish.

The Mackerel and Tuna also was well liked with Fiona eating some of hers and only Lisbeth turning it down.

The least favored was the Shrimp and Tuna which had what appeared to be whole baby shrimp. This is the food that was in the bowl Lisbeth was staring at on the Wordless Wednesday post: Is This Stuff Food? . The other least favored was Seabream and Tuna. Even Calista turned down that one along with Giulietta and Lisbeth; though, Lisbeth had no problem with it when served again.

The four foods that contain tuna in a combination with another fish or the shrimp all come with gravy so I am not surprised that my most picky eater Fiona ate some of these. Gravy is usually the only thing she eats from our regular brand.

So not all cats gave all foods a paw up, but overall I am quite pleased with the high quality of the food and general acceptance by my crew. I definitely will be getting them some more of the Blended Tuna, Mackerel and Tuna and Sardines and Tuna. And I am happy to recommend the Solid Gold product.

Solid Gold is available from Chewy, Petco, Amazon and others.

I was not monetarily compensated in any way for this review. I was provided only with the food for the kitties to try. All opinions expressed here are totally my own.

The Secret Life of CatsBook Winner

Concatulations to The Canadian Cats, Shoko and Kali. They are the winners of our latest giveaway. Shoko is a Cat Scout so we are certain that she will never engage in any of the hooliganism portrayed in this book. We cannot speak for Kali.

Thanks to everyone who entered.

 
 
Share this:
Connie September 11, 2014 at 5:12 pm

no saturated fat? how is that possible?.. this is an animal product, not to mention the cats kinda need the saturated fat for good health being obligate crnivores.
Connie recently posted…Sponsored Post – Crafting with #TractorSupply to celebrate #PAW14My Profile

Connie September 11, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I can’t believe I typo’d carnivores..
Connie recently posted…Sponsored Post – Crafting with #TractorSupply to celebrate #PAW14My Profile

Sherri-Ellen T-D. September 11, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Yow Gee n Fee yer just like me 😉
MOL….sowwy Aunti Janet, me cuud not reesist!!
Me haz stict rulez of inngagement when it comez to wet nomz~
Me eatz Fancey Feest Grilled Chickin or Turkey or Oceanfish/Tuna in gravy…me wuud eat da Salmon butt da bowelz will not allow diz anymore or else me wuud 😉
Me also will eatz Fancey Feest Marinated Chickin n Sliced Turkey in gravy. If we happenz to (KATGOD furbid) run out of either of afourmeshunned me will eatz sum Fancey feest Turkey n Chicken in gravy…howeber me PURRFERZ FRISKIEZ Chickin n Turkey in Gravy Senior nomz……
As fur Fancey Feest Chickin pate or Turkey pate of Health Diet patez ya can keepz dem (n me used to eatz dem a few monthz ago…)
Iz ALL ’bout da GRAVY Aunti….mmmmmmm…..gravy…….
What waz da questshun???
Much lub Nylablue =^,,^=
Sherri-Ellen T-D. recently posted…WW: How doez me garden grow?My Profile

Faythe @ GrammyMouseTails September 10, 2014 at 8:01 pm

those noms sound yummy. I may have to send some to my grand-kitties!
Faythe @ GrammyMouseTails recently posted…Bud to Bloom – Black-eyed SusanMy Profile

Hannah and Lucy September 10, 2014 at 1:11 pm

We both like chicken flavour food best and hate any fish ones – our flavour of the moment is Gourmet chicken pate, we also like Sheba chicken sliced chicken in gravy (as a runner up). We hate beef and fish flavours. Hannah of course really likes fresh cooked chicken breast (preferably warm from the oven) but Lucy doesn’t unless she’s starving and their’s nothing else being offered!
Luv Hannah and Lucy xx xx
p.s. Mum says she wishes she was a cat!
Hannah and Lucy recently posted…Wordless WednesdayMy Profile

Melissa & Truffles September 10, 2014 at 10:38 am

Great review! I’ve never heard of this brand but I’ll be on the lookout. Truffles is a “pate or the highway” kind of girl too 🙂
Melissa & Truffles recently posted…Birthday Wrap-Up and Comment-a-thon ResultsMy Profile

Christy Paws September 10, 2014 at 8:23 am

Thanks for the review. Sounds like this, the grain-free kind, might be good for mom to try for us when she runs out of raw food. She says she tries to be sure that doesn’t happen, but what can I say? It does happen.
Christy Paws recently posted…MeoowzResQ Saves LivesMy Profile

Pipo &Minko ~ WeBeesSiameezers September 10, 2014 at 1:09 am

Pipo is my fusspot kitty, and Minko will sometimes gorge, and other times stals off with disdain, MOL!
He is also the gravy licker.
They both only want pate.

Maybe next time I am in town, I shall go to the local pet food store and check those out. Thanks for sharing this.
Pipo &Minko ~ WeBeesSiameezers recently posted…Catsterland DoingsMy Profile

Penelope September 9, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Sardines and Tuna!?! Oh that sounds nummy! Mes used to gets a Sardines and tuna that was discontinued, next time Mommy goes to the states, she is going to trys and gets mes some Solid Gold Sardines and Tuna!
Kisses
Nellie
Penelope recently posted…Wordy WednesdayMy Profile

Marty the Manx September 9, 2014 at 9:05 pm

Thanks for the great review! Always interested in what is out there in kitty foods. CONCATS Canadian Cats!
Marty and Mom
Marty the Manx recently posted…Sunday Selfie Blog Hop and Mousebreath InterviewMy Profile

Sometimes Cats Herd You September 9, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Great review. Pierre is a big fan of their fishy flavors and would be happy to have them every day if he was allowed that much fish.
Sometimes Cats Herd You recently posted…Houseguest RumorsMy Profile

Angel AbbyGrace September 9, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Excellent review and we like that the kitties let you know right away what their preference was.
Angel AbbyGrace recently posted…Annabelle’s AnticsMy Profile

The Florida Furkids September 9, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Great review! We’re always on the lookout for good, healthy canned noms that we might all enjoy.

The Florida Furkids
The Florida Furkids recently posted…Tabby TuesdayMy Profile

Brian Frum September 9, 2014 at 11:32 am

We enjoyed your review too and we had not heard of that brand before.
Brian Frum recently posted…Opt to Adopt: Batman the Catman Seeks His Own Bat Cave – Greenville, SCMy Profile

Kitty Cat Chronicles September 9, 2014 at 10:30 am

Great review! Sounds like some good food, especially considering that your picky eaters liked it. I have been blessed with five cats who will eat anything I put in front of them – any flavor, pate, shredded, chunks, raw food, anything. They nom it up like they’ve never eaten a day in their life. MOL. And Sampy? Well he likes to steal human food right off our plates too. He’s naughty. 😉 He sends Astrid 9249982340958092834 kisses and hugs, and we all send love and hugs.

P.S. We can’t believe you’ve never seen The Lion King. That is Mom Emily’s favorite movie of all time. As a kid, she watched the VHS tape so many times that it wore out. Now she has it on DVD and watches it every so often. She listens to the soundtrack a lot too. The music from the movie, specifically the instrumental music, is what inspired her to be a musician. Sampy likes to watch it with her too. The Lion King and The Fox & The Hound are his favorites. He really does sit and watch them – any video with animals in it, he loves to watch. Sounds like a date in the making for Sampy and Astrid…

mariodacat September 9, 2014 at 9:55 am

Thank you for the very honest review. M said maybe she’d give that a try after I’ve lost all the weight I’m supposed to lose from being on my special diet.
mariodacat recently posted…Sunday Selfie Blog HopMy Profile

Crepes September 9, 2014 at 9:44 am

Pate or the highway! That’s my new motto! Maybe you can ask MomFOD to stop feeding me this raw stuff and give me pate. Cuz I don’t have a driver’s license and if it comes to that, I’m in trouble. – Crepes.
Crepes recently posted…Tuesday Haikusday: I SleepMy Profile

Ellen Pilch September 9, 2014 at 8:46 am

I will have to try some of that canned sardines and tuna on my kitties. I think it would be a hit.
Ellen Pilch recently posted…Male Cat Question?My Profile

Ellie September 9, 2014 at 8:39 am

Haha! I once bought some “chichi” food for Bo and Kobi because I wasn’t at my regular store – they did NOT like it! It’s shredded for them! And Bo licks the plate clean, but Kobi will leave some tidbits. HMC had to have expensive food (Fancy Feast, etc.) that contained tuna. So funny!
Ellie recently posted…Crazy, but that’s how it goesMy Profile

The REAL Maple Syrup Mob September 9, 2014 at 7:41 am

We think it’s coooooooooool, that fellow Canadians won the giveaway! Concats guys!
The REAL Maple Syrup Mob xxxxx
The REAL Maple Syrup Mob recently posted…Sunday SelfiesMy Profile

Katie isabella September 9, 2014 at 7:04 am

Mom said none of her litotes have ever eaten or liked shredded. She wondered if it’s because we rarely stop and chew, but just throw the food back and down the stummick tube! The shreds always made all her kitties including me to just lick and walk away. But she has found one that I don’t always “give back” u.e. horking it up and that’s Royal Canin. That stuff is so expensive, mommy said she’ll have to start selling my hugs to afford it.

The Island Cats September 9, 2014 at 6:53 am

Thanks for the review. The mom is always looking for new foods for us. We usually prefer pate too…though lately we’ve been eating Weruva which is shredded and we like it. We’ll give Solid Gold a looksee. 🙂
The Island Cats recently posted…Mancats – Our New BedMy Profile

Bev Green September 9, 2014 at 6:18 am

Yay for Shoko and Kali…look out to their mum…troubles a brewin now hahaaha 🙂 oh dear after my last few days I think I would be doing a review that would be just as complex hahhaah..will eat…won’t eat…must be…in this bowl turned clockwise…no onlookers..the drag out of the bowl…the push to the end..the fast chew and spew…cats…go figure 🙂 hugs and loves Fozziemum xxx
Bev Green recently posted…New Theme: EightiesMy Profile

Canadian Cats September 9, 2014 at 6:00 am

We do have our patterns when eating wet food. I always leave a wee bit on the bottom and eat all the gravy first. Kali eats EVERYTHING, lucky for us she leaves the pattern on the bowl! There are the odd morsels of food that fall over the side because she doesn’t have the teeth to grab the food so licks it.
Can you believe it we won that fabulous book? Well, the cold weather is coming and what better time to win a book for Story Time. Thank you so much Janet and family.

Hugs, (((Shoko)))
Canadian Cats recently posted…As Time Goes By…My Profile

Sammy September 9, 2014 at 5:57 am

Concats to Shoko and Kali on the giveaway! I’m an incredibly picky eater but Mom has found that if she puts water on almost ANY canned food, I’ll slurp it right up. I like gravy too!!! Mostly these days I eat kibble though. This food sounds nommy – I love shrimp – Mom always gives me one or two when she cooks it here.

Have a super Tuesday!
Hugs, Sammy
Sammy recently posted…Pre-Tease DayMy Profile

Flynn September 9, 2014 at 5:23 am

Great review and good that most of the cats ate most of the food. Flynn is very picky and licks the gravy off. He doesn’t like anything with shrimp at all.
Did you see he remembered his selfie at last on Sunday?
Flynn recently posted…Easy Like Sunday.My Profile

Molly The Wally September 9, 2014 at 4:04 am

Good review and it is interesting to read about all the cats different eating habits. Have a terrific Tuesday.
Best wishes Molly
Molly The Wally recently posted…Life Is Pants On Moanday Monday!My Profile

Deztinee High September 9, 2014 at 2:49 am

Wow dat’s pawsum. Glad yous found sum nummy noms dat most evewypawdy wuld eat. Weez like da solid gold bwand in theowy, but mommy dusn’t feed us fish cuz of da ash content. And ConCats to Shoko and hers furmily on da win. 🙂 Hope y’all hav a pawsum day.

Luv ya’

Dezi
Deztinee High recently posted…Did Sumpawdy Say New Carpet?My Profile

McGuffy Ann Morris September 9, 2014 at 1:32 am

Great review, and an important one. ~xo~
McGuffy Ann Morris recently posted…Fill-In Fun #178 & #179My Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: