KITTIES BLUE REVIEW NATURE’S VARIETY INSTINCT RAW BOOST MIXERS

by Janet Blue on February 25, 2016

Chewy.com

 

Disclaimer: This is a sponsored post. As members of the Chewy.com Blogger Outreach Program we received one free, 6 oz. package of Nature’s Variety Instinct Raw Boost Mixers in exchange for our fair and honest review. We received no monetary compensation. The opinions expressed are those of Kitties Blue and The Cat on My Head blog.

We eagerly await mealtimes with all attention on Mom or Dad as they dish up our food. We had no idea on this particular evening that she was adding an extra treat for us: Nature’s Variety Instinct Raw Boost Mixers in nommy chicken flavor. These are little nuggets of all-natural, grain-free, freeze-dried, raw yumminess.

Though the packaging suggests topping kibble with these, Mom added the mixers to our stinky goodness for individual taste testing. She’s also sprinkled them atop kibble and used them as treats. We like them no matter how she serves them!

 

Nature's Variety Instinct Raw Boost MixersAstrid and Lily try Nature's Variety Instinct Raw Boost Mixers

 

Key Benefits

Nature’s Variety lists the following as benefits of the Instincts Raw Boost Mixers:

  • Great topper for kibble
  • High quality, raw nutrition in a convenient and easy-to-serve form
  • Pure protein for lean muscles and strong bones
  • Natural ingredients for optimal nutrient absorption
  • Nutritious oils for healthy skin and coat
  • Freeze dried and all-natural for an irresistible taste
  • Grain-free and gluten-free
  • No artificial colors or preservatives

 

Listed Ingredients

Chicken (including ground chicken bone), turkey, turkey liver, turkey heart, pumpkin seeds, carrots, apples, butternut squash, ground flaxseed, montmorillonite clay, dried kelp, broccoli, apple cider vinegar, salmon oil, mixed tocopherols, rosemary extract, blueberries, dried chicory root

Nature’s Variety states: Instinct Raw Boost provides pure animal protein for lean muscles and strong bones, natural ingredients for optimal nutrient absorption, and nutritious oils for healthy skin and coat – all in a convenient, safe and delicious form your cat will love.

Mom wasn’t too sure about the ingredient montmorillonite clay. She Googled it and found this on Wikipedia: Montmorillonite clay is added to some dog and cat foods as an anti-caking agent and because it may provide some resistance to environmental toxins, though research on the subject is not yet conclusive. The same Wikipedia article stated: Sodium montmorillonite is also used as the base of some cat litter products, due to its absorbent and clumping properties. She suspects that this is what is used for the “optimal nutrient absorption.” Regardless, she is not sure about this one ingredient. She is going to check with our vet, Dr. Neel, about it prior to giving us any additional mixers.

Most of us found these to be delicious, and Mom knows Chewy.com would not send us products that are bad for us. She just wants to be extra careful, especially with Fiona due to her CKD.

These Nature’s Variety Instinct Raw Boost Mixers are available for $11.99 from Chewy.com, which offers free shipping on all orders over $49.

Finally, we want to thank Chewy.com and Sydney from the Blogger Outreach Program for the opportunity to try new products and report our findings to our readers.

Purrs and paw-pats, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth ad Calista Jo

cats on the jobp.s. If you haven’t entered our giveaway for a copy of Lisa Rogak’s book, Cats on the Job, click here to read Mom’s review and leave a comment. You have until Sunday, February 28, at 5 p.m. ET to do so.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share this:

Cathy Keisha February 29, 2016 at 12:41 pm

I’ll bet that clay stuff is put in there in lieu of carrageenan which is a carcinagen. I ate them until my review was posted and then wouldn’t touch them. Great review for making us think.
Cathy Keisha recently posted…A.P.B. From the C.A.T.My Profile

Vera February 25, 2016 at 6:39 pm

Thank you for the review!
If I remember correctly the montmorillonite is a very very fine clay that helps to absorb toxins in the gut and keeps the mix from clumping before it is fed. In the litter a different form of montmorillonite is added to help absorb liquids AND clump. In the wilds of south America parrotts regularly visit ‘clay licks’, African apes eat clay apparently to treat tummy problems, and primitive societies in various regions where this clay is found also use it as medicine. Again if I am not wrong what we call ‘talc’ is a refined form of this clay. Please correct me if I am wrong. I did not go online to document all this, it is just what I remember… Cheers to one and all. Vera and 2cats2

Annabelle February 25, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Great review. We can tell you all enjoyed those mixers!
Annabelle recently posted…Thankful ThursdayMy Profile

Robin February 25, 2016 at 5:44 pm

Those mixers sound pretty yummy! If I got them for Cinco and Manna, I would top wet food with them too. They have tried the freeze dried raw treats from Nature’s Variety Instinct and they loved them! 🙂
Robin recently posted…4 Ways to Create a Cat-Friendly EnvironmentMy Profile

Deziz World February 25, 2016 at 5:37 pm

Glad you all liked ’em. We luv ’em too. We like da rabbit furmula da bestest.

Luv ya’

Dezi and Lexi
Deziz World recently posted…Spay And Neuter What’s It All AboutMy Profile

The Island Cats February 25, 2016 at 3:00 pm

We’ve tried these in the past and we really like them. The mom usually crumbles them up on top of our wet food.

FYI, since there is ground up bone in these, you may not want to give them to Fiona. The mom recently read an article that CKD kitties should not have raw food containing ground bones as the bones may increase the phosphoru level in the food.
http://www.naturalcatcareblog.com/2016/02/qa-ground-bones-in-cat-food-diy-mini-shelter-for-ferals/
The Island Cats recently posted…What’s That Wally Doing?My Profile

Kitty Cat Chronicles February 25, 2016 at 12:25 pm

We’ve never tried the mixer before, but we’ve tried Instinct Raw Boost treats before. We LOVED them. They were so yummy. Then again, we’ve never tried a treat or food we didn’t like! Thanks for the great review! Sending lots of love and extra kisses to Fiona, and Sampy sends Astrid 2340958723409578 kisses

Savannah's Paw Tracks February 25, 2016 at 11:02 am

I have the same product to review Friday. As usual, I wouldn’t touch it but TKS gobbles them up but only if Mom L breaks them up first. That ingredient is worrisome especially if it is in litter too. Mostly though we have no clue why cat food companies insist on including things like squash, carrots and apples! We are carnivores
Savannah’s Paw Tracks recently posted…The Kid Sage for Wordless Wednesday #playfulcatMy Profile

The Menagerie Mom February 25, 2016 at 10:39 am

I love seeing you all lined up and waiting (patiently?) for your goodies. Those Raw Boost Mixers sure look scrumptious. Thanks for sharing this review with us! Purrs!
The Menagerie Mom recently posted…Thimble Thursday: What’s all this white stuff?My Profile

Ellen Pilch February 25, 2016 at 9:16 am

I love the photos of you all waiting for dinner. I am glad you liked it, but good idea of Mom to ask the vet about that ingredient. Your Mom has a nice collection of Polish pottery.

Sometimes Cats Herd You February 25, 2016 at 9:08 am

That’s pawesome. We get them as treats sometimes, and we are big fans!
Sometimes Cats Herd You recently posted…Waiting Her TurnMy Profile

Rosa @ Cat Lady Confidential February 25, 2016 at 5:56 am

Those raw boost mixers seem yummy!
Rosa @ Cat Lady Confidential recently posted…Avalon, a Tale of a Girl and Her Neurotic Cat – Book Review + GiveawayMy Profile

Sammy February 25, 2016 at 5:01 am

You all got to try something new – I love how your Mom makes sure everybody gets a chance to try stuff out! YAY!

Hugs, Sammy
Sammy recently posted…Rainy Day SnoozeMy Profile

Pipo/Minko/MrJackFreckles February 25, 2016 at 3:21 am

Wow, those look good,and MJF aka Dog-Guy is drooling!

And thanks so much fur all the purrs & pawyers fur our pawppy!
He’s on the mend now:)

Summer February 25, 2016 at 1:46 am

I love those raw boost mixers! I get them as training treats.
Summer recently posted…Stay PracticeMy Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: