CATS ON THE JOB REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY

by Janet Blue on February 23, 2016

Most cats can probably be labeled as bird-TV-watching couch potatoes. I know the ones who live with me can best be described in this way.

cats on the job

Photo by Toru Yamanaka

Lisa Rogak, in her book, Cats on the Job, introduces us to 50 real cats from around the world who have jobs on a larger scale than just keeping their humans warm at night. Many of the cats are employed as mousers to keep rodent populations under control. These cats work in a variety of locales and industries. Most of us have either met or heard about cats who “work” in churches, libraries or shops. Though Rogak includes these cats in her book, she also introduces us to others with both unusual and unique jobs.

cats on the job

Photo by Monti Franckowiak

First up is Sable, the crossing guard cat from West Richland, Washington. This was one of my favorite stories.

You’ll meet musical cats, the well-known Amazing Acro-Cats, a mayor, a train stationmaster, a dog trainer, a teaching assistant, a foster mother to Rottweiler puppies, actors, models and so many more. Even mega-star Grumpy Cat is included.

cats on the job

Photo by REX/USA/Richard Austin/Rex

The book has at least one full-color photo of each cat, many wearing the garb associated with their position, as you can see from the book cover and the photo of Sable.

Another of my favorites was Chesney, the baby-sitting kitten, who takes the younger, orphan kitten, Joey, under his paw.

You’ll also meet Towser, a Scottish distillery cat, who has the distinction of being included in The Guinness Book of World Records for dispatching 28,899 mice during his time on the job.

One of the subjects, Doorkins Magnificent, of Southwark Cathedral in London, slept through head scritches from Queen Elizabeth.

This is a feel good book that will keep you smiling from beginning to end and just might elicit several “squeees” from you along the way. The writing is excellent with well-reaserched bios of each cat.

cats on the job

Photo by Ben Gately Williams

Lisa Rogak has been writing professionally since 1981. She’s written more than 40 books on a wide range of topics including biographies of Barack Obama, Jon Stewart and Dan Brown, to name a few. Just as this book is a must read for all those who love or are fascinated by cats, so is Rogak’s bio, which you can find on her website, www.lisarogak.com.

To enter the giveaway for a copy of Cats on the Job, leave a comment on this post prior to Sunday, February 28, at 5 p.m. ET. The winner will be selected using Random.org.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of Cats on the Job from the author in exchange for my fair and honest review. I also was promised a copy to give away to one of my readers. The opinions expressed in this review are mine alone.

logo

 

Marty the Manx February 28, 2016 at 8:38 am

Love your review! This is a book I do want to get! Please enter us in the drawing!
Marty and Mom
Marty the Manx recently posted…Family Sunday Selfies 02/28/2016My Profile

Marjorie and the Dash Kitten Crew February 27, 2016 at 11:50 pm

P.S> You will like to hear that Harvey is much improved and being a great guy again! we love our white boy with the half ears 🙂
Marjorie and the Dash Kitten Crew recently posted…Tonk ‘N’ Oscars 2016 PredictionsMy Profile

Marjorie and the Dash Kitten Crew February 27, 2016 at 11:48 pm

Did we enter, if so, sorry for saying hello again!
Marjorie and the Dash Kitten Crew recently posted…Tonk ‘N’ Oscars 2016 PredictionsMy Profile

meowmeowmans February 26, 2016 at 10:01 pm

We have this book, and it is GREAT! We won’t enter, since we already have it, but good luck to everyone who enters! 🙂
meowmeowmans recently posted…FURever Home Friday! 🙂My Profile

Lois D February 26, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Would love a copy of this book to share with my human. I have a furrfriend who accompanies his kiddies to school each day and then goes back in the afternoon to accompany them home. He keeps them safe. Purrs. Sunshine

lorraine williamson February 25, 2016 at 8:56 am

frankie falls down on the job supposed to be therapy cat but doesn’t like people outside the family lovely review will have to check out the book thanks for sharing hugs and purrs to fiona and all the kitties blue
lorraine williamson recently posted…Rite Aid- 1/2 off Valentines Day Candy and Cereal DealsMy Profile

Rosa @ Cat Lady Confidential February 25, 2016 at 5:58 am

I have this book, but I must confess I hadn’t had the time to read it yet, even though it’s seems quite interesting. I’ve met a few library and bookstore cats and I must say it’s one of the reasons I visit some of those libraries and bookstores. I just can’t resist a cute kitty 🙂
Rosa @ Cat Lady Confidential recently posted…Avalon, a Tale of a Girl and Her Neurotic Cat – Book Review + GiveawayMy Profile

Nellie February 23, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Mes is so old, mes retired! (Tee Hee!)
Kisses
Nellie
PS. Don’t tell my Mommy, but mes started my own blog
http://NellieOnTheEdge.blogspot.ca/
Nellie recently posted…SShhh….Don’t tell….My Profile

Ellen Pilch February 23, 2016 at 11:24 pm

That is a great book, I have an e-copy so I am not going to enter though.

caren gittleman February 23, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Wonderful review! Good luck to all who enter! We aren’t entering because we reviewed it some months ago but wanted to say we agree with you about how meowvelous it is!
caren gittleman recently posted…World Spay Day:”Every Day Is HUMP Day…”My Profile

BeadedTail February 23, 2016 at 9:09 pm

That looks like a great book but do they have CPA Cats in there? Our WW post tomorrow will be a pic of one of us at work today!
BeadedTail recently posted…Tasty Tuesday #ChewyInfluencerMy Profile

Marjorie and the Dash Kitten Crew February 23, 2016 at 6:51 pm

We came to tell you that we did ALL of the Sunday Selfies and find you have a giveaway. Oh boy!! Well done you it looks a fun book.
Marjorie and the Dash Kitten Crew recently posted…World Spay Day 2016My Profile

The Island Cats February 23, 2016 at 5:20 pm

What a cute book! We’d love to win it for the mom.
The Island Cats recently posted…Trouble’s BrewingMy Profile

Flynn February 23, 2016 at 5:05 pm

That sounds like a lovely book.
Flynn recently posted…So Tired!My Profile

Toby February 23, 2016 at 4:54 pm

We would love this book!! It’s a great review. Mom didn’t know it was World Spay Day – she said she’d put it on her calendar for next year so she’ll remember to do a special post!!
Toby recently posted…Heating pad discussionMy Profile

Erin the Cat Princess February 23, 2016 at 4:33 pm

What a great subject to write about… we hear lots about working dogs, so its nice to have working cats too. I do love feel good stories and a bit of humour. purrs
Erin the Cat Princess recently posted…WOW!My Profile

Brian Frum February 23, 2016 at 2:28 pm

We’ve read that one and it’s pretty darn good, except for that work stuff MOL!
Brian Frum recently posted…#OptToAdopt Beautiful Zary Would Love to Go Home With You – Easley, SCMy Profile

Savannah's Paw Tracks February 23, 2016 at 12:21 pm

What a great concept for a book. Bet the author had fun traveling to meet those famous kitties.
Savannah’s Paw Tracks recently posted…Monday Fun with SavannahMy Profile

prancer pie February 23, 2016 at 11:40 am

I think all us kittehz here would agree that we have jobs, too – keeping the Mommy in line is the biggest one. MOL!
Seriously, looks like a great read!
prancer pie recently posted…Tuxie Tuesday – Spay Day 2016My Profile

Raylene February 23, 2016 at 11:27 am

This sounds like a wonderful book that our Entertainment Reviewer, Lucky, will need to read. 🙂

The Swiss Cats February 23, 2016 at 10:57 am

That sounds like a great book ! Purrs
The Swiss Cats recently posted…Qui a touché le gros lot ?My Profile

Beverly February 23, 2016 at 10:56 am

I love cat stories like this!

mariodacat February 23, 2016 at 10:45 am

This sounds like a really good book and M and I would like to read. Thanks for offering it.
mariodacat recently posted…Tap, Tap, Tap and Caturday Art Blog HopMy Profile

The Menagerie Mom February 23, 2016 at 10:22 am

This book sounds like such a fun read. Cats are simply amazing, and the things they can do never cease to amaze me. Thank you for sharing this, and for the chance to win! Purrs!
The Menagerie Mom recently posted…Toesies TuesdayMy Profile

Basil February 23, 2016 at 9:25 am

Sounds fab… we’ll have to get a copy…. howeffur, will that mean that P.A. will expect us to get a job? MOL MOL Purrs basil xox
Basil recently posted…Sunday Selfies #80My Profile

Linda Arthur Tejera February 23, 2016 at 9:17 am

This sounds like such a fun book! And it could be such an inspiration for the seven of us! We hope we win! Midge, Nicky, Inky, Freckles, Charlie, Tippi and Maggie! 😀
Linda Arthur Tejera recently posted…Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge: Pets and Valentine’s Day Sunday SelfiesMy Profile

da tabbies o trout towne February 23, 2016 at 9:17 am

guys…what a total lee awesum give a way !!! thiz book sounds like it iz reel lee
fun & it wood be grate ta reed two de food serviss gurl ~~~~~~ best fishes two everee
one on winning a copee !! ♥♥♥

Laila and Minchie February 23, 2016 at 8:06 am

What a great book! We would love to win it for our mom whose birthday is today.
Laila and Minchie recently posted…Mancat MondayMy Profile

Peaches & Paprika February 23, 2016 at 6:56 am

I bought and read the book but wanted to say I do love it! All the costumes and inventive cats are the best entertainment! Have fun, whoever wins
Peaches & Paprika recently posted…Tummy Tuesday cheesecake PixMy Profile

Stephanie B February 23, 2016 at 6:52 am

I would love to have this book and share it with my son, also a cat lover. Looks so cute and fun!

Chuck Huss February 23, 2016 at 6:26 am

I think I need to put my lazy cats to work. One of them can do my job.
Chuck Huss recently posted…Our Uncontainable CatMy Profile

Sammy February 23, 2016 at 5:16 am

Great review!!!!! Mom says there’s only one job I’m fit for and that’s Professional Napper.

Love, Sammy
Sammy recently posted…Pre-Tease MondayMy Profile

Hannah and Lucy February 23, 2016 at 4:10 am

That book looks great – can we try for the give away book please? – some British cats are included in there.
Luv Hannah and Lucy xx xx
Hannah and Lucy recently posted…I’m WaitingMy Profile

Sue February 23, 2016 at 2:49 am

I’ve read about the train stationcatster (who not that long ago died) but I don’t think I ever heard about the other jobs like Sable has! This sounds so great!

Cleopawtra (Becca Cook) February 23, 2016 at 2:29 am

That sounds like a fun book. I was reading earlier today about the Prime Minister of Great Britain’s cat that is the official mouser. Thanks for the giveaway!

Summer February 23, 2016 at 2:13 am

This looks like such a fun book!
Summer recently posted…New Supreme!My Profile

Linda Szymoniak February 23, 2016 at 1:03 am

Such cute cats. I should put our cats to work!

Brenda aka Aspen February 23, 2016 at 12:32 am

Hello to you all cats! Its Scout Aspen weighing in on this lovely book about Working cats! Mom promises to read it to me if we, ie she and I (Aspen), Win!!

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: