THE BEST CAT BOOK EVER REVIEW AND 5 COPY GIVEAWAY

by Janet Blue on October 24, 2014

 

The Best Cat Book Ever

The Best Cat Book Ever by author and photographer, Kate Funk, with AC the Cat is fun and funky. The moment I opened it, I began smiling and didn’t stop.

Kate and black cat AC (short for Annoying Customer) have created a picture book filled with full-color photos of AC modeling unusual and fanciful costumes while posing in dioramas.

Each outfit and backdrop were designed and created by Kate who then set the scenes and took the photos.

AC, sporting a perpetual look of distain, appears in a far-ranging array of costumes from the abominable snowman, to a peacock, Santa Claus and even Godzilla. With each new look comes new specially-designed surroundings. In many instances we get a peek at Kate’s original drawings and notes made on graph or notebook paper. I was fascinated to see Kate’s process of working from simple drawings and descriptions to create each unique costume and vignette.

The first few pages of The Best Cat Book Ever tell Kate’s story as a young girl and lover of all things cat. We learn of her yearning for a black cat and her visit to a no-kill shelter where she meets and adopts AC in 2006. She confesses that AC reminded her a bit of herself, calling him “…a loner, and a bit of a weirdo.” You’ll also find out the progression of how a birthday card, featuring AC, created for a friend morphed into a calendar and finally into this delight of a book, which can be enjoyed by cat lovers of all ages.

Kate Funk lives and works in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. She attended the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design where she earned a BFA in photography.

 Now for the exciting part of this review: Five lucky readers leaving a comment on this post will be selected, using Random.org, to win a copy of The Best Cat Book Ever. Additionally, 50 others will receive a booklet of postcards featuring four of Funk’s designs featuring AC. Those leaving a comment prior to Monday, November 3, at 5 p.m. will be entered in the giveaway. 

The Kindle & Nook versions of the book are currently available on Amazon.com/Barnes&Noble.com for $8.81. The hardcover edition is scheduled for release on October 28, and is available for pre-order from both sellers for $10.01. It is definitely worth the one-week wait to have the hardcover edition.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of the hardcover edition of The Best Cat Book Ever in order to review it as well as three postcard booklets. All opinions expressed are my own.

Please join us tomorrow for our announcement of the winner of the book, A Cat With Three Tales.

 

Cat4And don’t forget to start taking those selfies for our Sunday Selfies Blog Hop.

 

Sylvai Rzeminski October 30, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Sounds perfect for anyone who, like me, should probably be going to catholic anonymous, but then again aren’t we cat lovers.

meowmeowmans October 29, 2014 at 11:05 pm

That book looks super awesome, and we’d love the chance to win. Thank you! 🙂
meowmeowmans recently posted…(Almost) Wordless Wednesday – BellaMy Profile

Flynn October 28, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Please can you enter me. I had missed it at the time because mum and dad were celebrating their anniversary.
Flynn recently posted…Tummy, Tail and Toesies Tuesday.My Profile

Carolsue October 26, 2014 at 7:49 pm

I collect cat books so this would be awesome to win!

Prudence & Theresa October 26, 2014 at 6:22 pm

OMD! OMC! AC looks as regal as our very own Wren! This is a pawsome prize! Thanks fur the chance to win!
Prudence & Theresa recently posted…Cats & Dogs – A Giveaway! Oh My!My Profile

Harvey Button October 26, 2014 at 5:33 pm

OOH WOWWWWW * waves madly * PICK ME PICK MEEEEEEE!!
Harvey Button recently posted…Sunday Selfie with PhoebeMy Profile

Angel AbbyGrace October 26, 2014 at 12:21 pm

That sounds like a fantastic book!
Angel AbbyGrace recently posted…Black and White Sunday Selfie — Back of DisrespectMy Profile

Joanne October 26, 2014 at 9:06 am

Would love to add this one to my cat book collection !

Timmy Tomcat October 26, 2014 at 8:16 am

Meow Oh My
We would love a copy of this great book or the Postcards.
How much fun can a cat have anymeow
Thank Mes
Timmy and Family
Timmy Tomcat recently posted…Wonderful WavesMy Profile

Kjelle Bus aka Charlie Rascal October 26, 2014 at 6:00 am

Sounds like a good book !
Since me lives i Sweden you can count me out from the give away.

XOXO
Kjelle Bus aka Charlie Rascal recently posted…Blöt söndags Selfie / Wet SUNday selfieMy Profile

Deztinee High October 25, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Sounds like a vewy good book.

Luv ya’

Dezi
Deztinee High recently posted…OMC It’s CaturdayMy Profile

Clooney October 25, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Wow, that sounds like a really cool book, we would like to enter please!
Clooney recently posted…Caturday ArtMy Profile

Sammy October 25, 2014 at 6:18 am

Gosh – “THE BEST” sounds like a pretty good advertisement for ANYTHING….but a “best” cat book ever is something that everybody should own right??????

Hugs, Sammy
Sammy recently posted…Bacon Anyone?My Profile

Alice Marie October 25, 2014 at 5:58 am

That looks like a great book! Please give us a chance to win it!
Alice Marie recently posted…What Was That?My Profile

Kitty Cat Chronicles October 25, 2014 at 12:18 am

This book sounds PAWESOME!! What a cute idea. And so many things to give away. We hope we win something.
Sampy sends as many kisses to Astrid as there are cat treats in the world. We all send love and hugs!
Kitty Cat Chronicles recently posted…Wordless Wednesday: Delilah, Food ThiefMy Profile

Katnip Lounge October 24, 2014 at 10:20 pm

DEF the Best Cat Book, EVAR!
Katnip Lounge recently posted…Feline Fur-RowsMy Profile

Sherri-Ellen T-D. October 24, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Dat AC kittehgurl iz sum poser!!!
Soundz like a bery fun book fer shure.
Sendin ya all lub…
Nylablue n Mum too x0x0x0x0x0x0
Pee ess: Me iz still battlin da Cystitis n Mum still faateequed…we iz a mess here 🙁
Sherri-Ellen T-D. recently posted…WW: All Canadian GurlMy Profile

The Island Cats October 24, 2014 at 7:13 pm

What a cool book! We don’t read, but the mom does…and she’d like to read this one. 🙂
The Island Cats recently posted…Formerly Feral – Happy ‘Tocktober!My Profile

donna October 24, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Id love to have ta copy of the book, i would read it to my 2 cats at bedtime.

Austin Towers October 24, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Now, that is quite a claim!! It would be interesting to have the chance to assess whether the claim is true!! Just saying!! MOL xox
Austin Towers recently posted…Harry – who came before!My Profile

Becca Cook October 24, 2014 at 3:56 pm

From the cover shot ths looks to be an interesting book. The photos should be great, with the cats in all the different costumes. Hope I win it!

Rascal and Rocco October 24, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Sounds hilarious, I’ll have to get myself a copy. I’m sure the look of disdain was real.
Rascal and Rocco recently posted…Pet Parade #63My Profile

BeadedTail October 24, 2014 at 2:26 pm

That looks like a book that would make our mommy smile! What a great giveaway! Thank you for the opportunity to win!
BeadedTail recently posted…Finally FridayMy Profile

The Canadian Cats October 24, 2014 at 1:39 pm

The book sounds very interesting and a hoot to look at with all the cool pictures. Gee even the postcards sound nifty. We would also like to win. We will take a peek at the book on kindle.

Purrs,

Shoko
The Canadian Cats recently posted…Thankful Thursday.My Profile

Ellen Pilch October 24, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Sounds like a fun book. Books and cats are my favorites.
Ellen Pilch recently posted…22 Years as a Cat OwnerMy Profile

Pipo &Minko ~ WeBeesSiameezers October 24, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Yes!! Fun fur peeps and fun fur kittes, too…um we think so anyways, MOL!
Pipo &Minko ~ WeBeesSiameezers recently posted…Wordless Wednesday Me-YowsMy Profile

Cathy Keisha October 24, 2014 at 11:16 am

This book actually sounds like something I’d like since it doesn’t have many words. Guess what? Your picks are in today’s Foto Frenzy feature on my blog!
Cathy Keisha recently posted…Friday on My MindMy Profile

Brian Frum October 24, 2014 at 10:43 am

We agree, that sounds like one terrific book!
Brian Frum recently posted…T.G.I.F. The GrooveMy Profile

The Swiss Cats October 24, 2014 at 8:47 am

That book sounds like a fun book ! We would love to win it or the postcards ! Thank you for that fun giveaway ! Purrs
The Swiss Cats recently posted…Chatification !My Profile

Sue October 24, 2014 at 7:36 am

Sounds like a fun book! I LOVE all cat books!

Cat Scout Charles October 24, 2014 at 6:15 am

What a lovely book and the cover is cute. Happy Friday everyone.
CS Charles

Molly The Wally October 24, 2014 at 5:40 am

Looks like a great book and love the cover. Have a fabulous Friday.
Best wishes Molly
Molly The Wally recently posted…Have A Fright Night On Freaky Friday!My Profile

Hannah and Lucy October 24, 2014 at 3:50 am

We would love a chance of winning a copy of this book or the booklet of postcards please.
Luv Hannah and Lucy xx xx
Hannah and Lucy recently posted…A SurpriseMy Profile

Maureen October 24, 2014 at 3:00 am

Looks like a great book
Maureen recently posted…NEARLY HERE!My Profile

Linda Szymoniak October 24, 2014 at 12:57 am

This book looks awesome!

McGuffy Ann Morris October 24, 2014 at 12:52 am

This looks fun; definitely a book for us to add to our library! Thanks for the chance! Hug.
McGuffy Ann Morris recently posted…A Simple FenceMy Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: