A CAT WITH THREE TALES BOOK REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY

by Janet Blue on October 17, 2014

 

A Cat With Three TalesA Cat With Three Tales, by Karen Rieser, is the true story of Friday/Max, one of four kittens born in the back of a closet. All four are taken to a southern California rescue at the age of six weeks. At first it seems Friday and his brother, Squirrely, will have a great life together after being adopted by a young, single woman. And they do, until she is forced to move away for work and cannot take them with her.

As Friday and Squirrely are returned to the cat rescue from which they were adopted, I got that hand-squeezing-my-heart feeling. They began attending adoption events every weekend, but at four years old, they were consistently passed over for kittens. (A story* we all know too well.)

The two cats waited for two years before Friday hit the jackpot and got a new home and name, Max. This is where we and Max leave Squirrely. We don’t find out what happens to him, which left a void in this story for me. Unfortunately the author does not know anything about Squirrely’s life after his brother left him behind.

This is not the end of Max’s adventures in A Cat With Three Tales. I don’t want to tell you anything more, however, as the reason for this review is to tantalize you just enough to want the book so you can find out all about Max. I will tell you that Max is now about 16 years old and lives in Virginia, and you will not regret buying this book and reading about the ups and downs of his life.

The handsome tabby on the cover of the book is Max. Two additional photos appear on the back of this paperback and another in the book’s epilogue.

A Cat With Three Tales can be read easily in one sitting. It retails for $8.95 and is available from the usual online booksellers. Amazon.com lists it in the Children’s Book section, but this is an excellent read and/or gift for the animal lover of any age.

Thanks to the author, I will be giving away one copy of A Cat With Three Tales. For the opportunity to win it, please leave a comment on this post prior to Thursday, October 23, at 5 p.m. EDT.

Disclaimer: I received no monetary payment for the review. I did receive two copies, one for myself and one to give away. The opinions expressed are totally my own.
* If you would like to read a poem that I wrote on this subject, “Musings of a Shelter Cat,” click on the title.

 

Next Friday I will be reviewing and giving away five copies of the book, The Best Cat Book Ever, by Kate Funk with AC the Cat.

 

 
Share this:
Kitty Cat Chronicles October 18, 2014 at 9:49 pm

We are so upset to hear that Max had to leave his brother Squirrely behind. How wonderful for Max that he was adopted though. Sounds like a sweet book.
So many book reviews going on over here — very cool!! We have one coming up soon too.
Anyway, Sampy is sending the usual exorbitant amount of kisses to Astrid, and we are all sending love and hugs.
Kitty Cat Chronicles recently posted…#FeralCatDay – How You Can Help!My Profile

Kjelle Bus aka Charlie Rascal October 18, 2014 at 10:16 am

Thanks for the review !
Sounds like an interesting story about Max life.

XOXO
Kjelle Bus aka Charlie Rascal recently posted…Lördags konst med Kjelle / CATurday Art with CharlieMy Profile

Ellen Pilch October 18, 2014 at 10:00 am

Great review. I am always looking for books about cats to read.

Pipo &Minko ~ WeBeesSiameezers October 18, 2014 at 12:04 am

Sounds quite intriguing.

Our now angel furbling Groucho was part of a set of furblings that had to all find new homes…but they were not in a shelter, they were at their owner who had to give all of them up, on account of there were twins coming home from the hospital and believe it or not the medical peeps said no pets were allowed because there was going to be a respirator coming along with the twins…sigh…

Anyways, Groucho (who was 7 back then), lived his new life for over 10 years…and a few new furblings, too.
Pipo &Minko ~ WeBeesSiameezers recently posted…Sunday Selfies on Monday…Late Again…My Profile

meowmeowmans October 17, 2014 at 10:42 pm

This sounds like a great book. Some cats do have more than one story – Moosey, Gracie and Zoe included! 🙂
meowmeowmans recently posted…Angel Sammy’s Feral Cat Day Message 🙂My Profile

Caren Gittleman October 17, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Sounds like a good one but please do NOT enter me! I have waaaay more left to read than I even WANT to read lol……….
Caren Gittleman recently posted…Children’s Books:Odie the Stray Kitten and Odie’s Best Friend By Kristen MottMy Profile

Cathy Keisha October 17, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Hmmm, Max isn’t bad looking—not that any cat CAN be bad looking.
Cathy Keisha recently posted…The 5’s Have ItMy Profile

Melissa & Truffles October 17, 2014 at 6:40 pm

This book sounds absolutely amazing. We would love to enter to win a copy!
Melissa & Truffles recently posted…A Crafty Christmas by Mollie Cox Bryan: Guest Author, Review & GiveawayMy Profile

The Island Cats October 17, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Thanks for the review. This sounds like an interesting story. We wish we knew Ernie and Zoey’s first stories.
The Island Cats recently posted…Formerly Feral – Finally FridayMy Profile

Maxwell, Faraday & Allie October 17, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Well WE approve of Max’s name 🙂

Sounds like a wonderful and very touching book!
Maxwell, Faraday & Allie recently posted…Fangs on FridayMy Profile

Annie October 17, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Both Annie & Pierrot have two stories, the first ones I only know a little about. I also find it sad about Squirrely. You did a great review. You left me wanting to know more about Max!
Annie recently posted…Storing SunshineMy Profile

Maggie@shelter-cats October 17, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Very good review and interesting sounding story. I have mixed feeling when cats who have lived their whole lives together are separated. It’s sad, but keeping them waiting longer in the shelter isn’t a good choice either. I think they adjust pretty fast. We have several brothers at PAWS who prefer snuggling up with non family members!
Thank you for sponsoring Swizzle.
xxoo
Maggie@shelter-cats recently posted…Artist’s Model BuddyMy Profile

mariodacat October 17, 2014 at 2:07 pm

We would love to be entered in this contest. Real stories about real kitties is always the best. Thanks to you and the author for sponsoring this opportunity.
mariodacat recently posted…Happy 9th Birthday MarioMy Profile

Angel AbbyGrace October 17, 2014 at 1:41 pm

That sounds like a great book to read!
Angel AbbyGrace recently posted…Jelly Belly FridayMy Profile

The Swiss Cats October 17, 2014 at 9:05 am

It looks like a nice book to read ! Great review ! Purrs
The Swiss Cats recently posted…Suivi des travauxMy Profile

Austin Towers October 17, 2014 at 8:40 am

You have said just enough to tantalise us mol. A super review!
Austin Towers recently posted…Cat flap saga – episode #42761My Profile

Cat Scout Charles October 17, 2014 at 6:34 am

Wonderful review and such a heart warming tale. All my sibs and I have assorted tales too but we are not telling. MOL.
Happy Friday Kitties Blue……especially the beautiful Ms Lisbeth (Smooches)
C S Charles

The REAL Maple Syrup Mob October 17, 2014 at 6:34 am

Will we need Kleenex?
The REAL Maple Syrup Mob xxxxx
The REAL Maple Syrup Mob recently posted…We Were Alright By ThanksgivingMy Profile

Sammy October 17, 2014 at 6:30 am

Good review….sounds like a sweet book but I have a feeling I’d be wondering about Max’s brother Squirrelly too and how he fared – it always makes me sad when kittens are separated but then again that’s the way it often is. How grand that Max is 16 and going strong. Makes me happy.

Hugs, Pam (and Sam)
Sammy recently posted…Sammy McKimmellMy Profile

Molly The Wally October 17, 2014 at 4:49 am

Sounds like a great book. Good review. Have a fabulous Friday.
Best wishes Molly
Molly The Wally recently posted…Chicken Of The Tree Continued On Woeful Wednesday!My Profile

Summer October 17, 2014 at 3:40 am

I would love to read this book and find out what happens to Friday/ Max! Some cats have more than one tale… Binga is glad she only has one!
Summer recently posted…Let’s Talk… About Feral CatsMy Profile

Canadian Cats October 17, 2014 at 12:15 am

Ohhh…this book sounds like one Kali and I would enjoy at Story Time. The review was well done without giving anything away.

(((Shoko)))

McGuffy Ann Morris October 17, 2014 at 12:09 am

This sounds like a book that I would love! Thank you for the great review. I definitely want to get this one. It looks like a keeper for sure. ~xoxo~
McGuffy Ann Morris recently posted…One WayMy Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

{ 2 trackbacks }

Previous post:

Next post: