PETSAFE® SIX MEAL FEEDER REVIEW

by Janet Blue on December 22, 2017

Fill-Ins Postponed

For those of you stopping by for the weekly Friendly Fill-Ins, we will be posting ours tomorrow with our Caturday Art, which will include our 2017 Christmas cards.

PetSafe® Six Meal Feeder

Today we are reviewing the PetSafe® Six Meal Feeder. When I agreed to try out this product, I thought it worked in a different manner and that I could program it for six different cats. That, however, is not the case.

The feeder can be programed to dispense up to six meals per day but not meals for individual pets. When Dad Tom and I discovered how it worked, we decided to use it for Sawyer’s kitten food. It hasn’t kept the other cats from eating his food, but it does allow him to get first crack at it. When he hears the food drop into the bowl from the holding chamber, he comes running. We have it scheduled to release food every four hours.

 

PetSafe® Feeder

The feeder just dropped food into the bowl seconds ago, and Sawyer ran to it immediately.

 

Each chamber is large enough for one cup of dry or semi-moist food. Unless you are feeding multiple pets, we can’t imagine you would need to load in that much food. But, it is nice to have the option.

The feeder is easy to fill after removing the clear, locking lid, which allows you to see if you need to refill the chambers. This design also ensures that the food remains fresh and pilfering paws cannot remove food from full chambers.

I think the best use of the feeder will be for those who are trying to keep their pet from over-eating. Once Sawyer is off kitten food, we will be using it for the regular kibble that the others eat. As we have a few pudgies in our house, I will be happy to have a way to limit their intake. And if needed, I can immediately dispense the next meal by the push of a button.

The feeder has an LCD display and built in clock. It is easy to set-up and easily programmable. Setting the actual clock to the current and correct time, however, was not easy, as it can be advanced only one minute at a time.

Additional Facts About the PetSafe® Six Meal Feeder

  • A removable, one-cup, dishwasher-safe bowl is included;
  • Four D-cell alkaline batteries are required but not included;
  • Feeder has a one-year warranty;
  • Feeder is for indoor use only;
  • Materials are food grade and free of BPA;
  • Assembled feeder is 9.6 inches wide by 15.7 inches long X 6.4 inches high;
  • Your cat will prefer the box, as evidenced below.

 

Sawyer in PetSafe® Feeder Box

Sawyer played in the box the entire time I was writing this review, and then fell fast asleep in it.

 

In conclusion, I would recommend this product for anyone who wants to control their cat’s food consumption or is away from home all day or overnight.

Disclaimer: Kitties Blue received one PetSafe® Six Meal Feeder free-of-charge in exchange for our fair and honest review. 

 

PetSafe® Feeder

Astrid waits to see if she can score some kitten chow when Sawyer finishes.

 

If you are looking for the perfect gift for the pet guardian or pet in your life, PetSafe® Six Meal Feeder is available on the PetSafe® web-site for $89.99 with free shipping and Amazon for $83.51 with free-shipping if you have Amazon Prime.

 

Share this:

Pet Finder Online January 29, 2018 at 12:24 am

Very useful information on this article i really like it specially “PETSAFE® SIX MEAL FEEDER REVIEW”each and every step of procedure is very easy.Pet adoption services, dog breeds (2018 updated), find latest about dog breed, dog names, search 8000+ adoptable pets, 250+ dog breeds, dog training & toys.

MrJackFreckles/Pipo/Angel-Minko December 24, 2017 at 10:25 pm

I had a different version of an auto feeder, you were supposed to be able to set it to dispense a controlled amount of food at controlled intervals that you decided upon before setting it. The problem was, it was not consistent in dispensing the right amount of food at the right time, and it was not terribly user furendly either,at least not for this kitty mom. This dispenser you tested seems an upgrade…though you can only use it for one day? Mine went for days until the food was gone from the ‘holding tank’. My then obese Toki did not like it either… Glad that Sawyer loved the box!

Mary Jane Witter December 24, 2017 at 8:50 am

I just love the idea of an automatic pet food feeder. What will I ever do with all my spare time?
Also, Sawyer is adorable! I wonder if he has “tail-envy?”

mommakatandherbearcat December 22, 2017 at 10:17 pm

Kitten food is the good stuff! I’ve been looking for a way to put Ellie on a diet – without inflaming Bear’s proclivity to snarf down a bowl of kibble the second it is put out. Ellie really needs to lose some weight – and free feeding isn’t working for you. This sounds like a possible solution! Merry Christmas to all of you!
mommakatandherbearcat recently posted…And a crab cake with a tortieMy Profile

Margie December 22, 2017 at 6:45 pm

That does look like a great idea. Around here, there would be a stampede to get the food. I am sure it is great for a small number of cats.
You all have a very Merry Christmas.
Margie recently posted…Friday FunMy Profile

The Island Cats December 22, 2017 at 6:06 pm

We’re not going to let the mom see this because we don’t want her to get any ideas about limiting our food intake. 😉
The Island Cats recently posted…Zoey’s Christmas WishMy Profile

Ellen Pilch December 22, 2017 at 4:56 pm

Nice review. I think my cats would attack it to get all the food out, they are very resourceful.

Colehaus Cats December 22, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Hey now, this sounds like a wonderful addition to households whose humans might want to stay out later than usual, and don’t want to listen to how everyone is starved when coming home ten minutes late. We like the thought of pilfering paws not being able to scoop up all the food, not that THAT would ever happen, we’re sure. Extra bonus points for box enjoyment, too!

Athena December 22, 2017 at 11:35 am

That looks amazing and we are glad you enjoyed the box, Sawyer!

Purrs xx
Athena and Marie
Athena recently posted…Wordless Wednesday: A Couple of Festive Videos from Cats ProtectionMy Profile

Cathy Keisha December 22, 2017 at 11:20 am

I never realized Sawyer was a manx!! Love you little guy.

The Florida Furkids December 22, 2017 at 11:10 am

That looks like a pawsome feeder. It would be especially good for kitties on diets!

The Florida Furkids with tons of smoochies and love to Mau from Allie.
The Florida Furkids recently posted…Friendly Fill-InsMy Profile

Eastside Cats December 22, 2017 at 10:53 am

We use kibble as a treat only, but I can see how this would really be handy. Wonder if there is an outdoor version, for my friendly ferals!
Eastside Cats recently posted…And So, It Begins…My Profile

BeadedTail December 22, 2017 at 10:40 am

That’s a pretty cool gadget! Our mommy thinks that’d be helpful for me during the night so I quit waking her up for the treats in her nightstand. Sounds good to me!

Merry Christmas to all the Kitties Blue and your mom and dad too!

Purrs,
Angel
BeadedTail recently posted…Ready for Santa ClawsMy Profile

Brian Frum December 22, 2017 at 10:20 am

We always loke interesting and practical gizmos like that!
Brian Frum recently posted…T.G.I.F. The Gotcha – A Gotcha Day SpecialMy Profile

Linda Arthur Tejera December 22, 2017 at 9:54 am

This sounds good. I’ve got several kitties who it wouldn’t hurt to limit their food intake. It’s just hard when you’ve got multiple cats requiring different foods. sigh…
Linda Arthur Tejera recently posted…DP Weekly Photo Challenge — AscendMy Profile

Teddy December 22, 2017 at 5:34 am

Hey what a cool thing! Sawyer certainly seems to have taken to it and tuned right in to hearing it “preparing” a meal. LOL I think even though you can’t fix it up for six cats, it still will be limiting the amount of kibble available to the whole crew during a given day which is nice. Sawyer is so cute – he’s got such beautiful stripes and coloring.

Love and Hugs, Pam and Teddy too

Summer December 22, 2017 at 3:43 am

This sounds pretty handy!
Summer recently posted…Boodie’s Holiday Comb OutMy Profile

erin the Cat, Princess December 22, 2017 at 3:22 am

Oooh now I have been looking for something like this just in case the housekeeper, Mrs Hudson is away. A lot of feeders out there are just not scoring well on the tests and reviews or get clogged up, so I’ll be interested to see if I can get this one over here in UK. Thanks for a great review on a much needed product…
Toodle pips
ERin

Lone Star Cats December 22, 2017 at 2:55 am

MOL at Sawyer prefurrin da box!
Lone Star Cats recently posted…Thoroughly Poetical ThursdayMy Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: