FAT CAT ART BOOK REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY

by Janet Blue on September 15, 2015

Famous Masterpieces Improved by a Ginger Cat with Attitude

 

fat catWe have many art books in our home, some dedicated to individual artists like Michaelangelo, DaVinci and van Gogh. Others are museum specific, for museums like Musée D’Orsay, Uffizi Gallery, The Hermitage. The newest of those books, Fat Cat Art, will take pride of place.

This 300-page book by Svetlana Petrova is filled with exquisite art featuring Zarathustra the 22-pound ginger cat. The art is inspired as is the writing. It is thoughtful and witty with Zarathustra doing a good deal of the “talking.”

Russian artist Petrova lives in St. Petersburg and states that she spent her childhood visiting The Hermitage every weekend with her mother. I’m not sure that would have been my idea of fun as child, but the adult me finds the thought of that heavenly. My one visit there sadly, I suspect, will be my only one.

fat catBut back to Fat Cat Art: Petrova began photoshopping her mother’s fat cat (now her cat), Zarathustra, into the world’s most well-known works of art. The “reworked” creations of great artists have become internet sensations (FatCatArt.com). These works are now contained in one beautifully-designed and written book.

fat catAs much as I adore cats, my first thought was, “sacrilege.” How could you mess with James Abbott MacNeill Whistler’s “Arrangement in Grey and Black No. 1,” also known as “Portrait of the Artist’s Mother,” Leornardo da Vinci’s “Mona Lisa,” Gustav Klimt’s “The Kiss” or Michelangelo’s “The Creation of Adam” on the Sistine Chapel’s ceiling? But Petrova’s cat-centric interpretations of these great works are so masterfully done
and matched in style and technique that it is easy to imagine, as she suggests, that the ginger cat versions of these paintings were the originals.

far catIt would be hard for me to select a favorite from all these new “masterpieces,” but being a huge fan of both Degas and Monet, I would probably have to select “The Dance Class” or “Bathing in a Pond of Water Lilies.”

Zarathustra, who refers to himself as “us” and “we” offers his thoughts throughout the book on such things as feeding the cat, kisses from humans and belly rubs. As many of the “masterpieces” include more than one of him, the plural pronoun does not seem out of place.

I could go on and on about this gem of a book, but then you would not feel compelled to read it, but you must. Zarathustra and Kitties Blue agree and say, “Buy this Book!” The enjoyment it will give you, even if you’ve never had the pleasure of sharing your home with a ginger cat, is priceless. Should you win a copy, you can always gift it to a cat-loving friend. It will most likely be the best present you will ever give them.

fat cat

Petrova and Zarathustra

And yes, you read that right. Kitties Blue are giving away three copies of Fat Cat Art. We regret the giveaway is for U.S. residents only. All those leaving a comment on this post (including those from outside the U.S., who can gift their copy if they win) will be entered to win a book. Selections will be made using Random.org. Comments must be received prior to 5 p.m. EDT on Sunday, September 20.

If you absolutely cannot wait to see if you win, Fat Cat Art is available beginning today from Amazon for $8.22 and Barnes & Noble for $8.69 (retail is $14.95).

 

 

 

Share this:
Lola and Lexy September 20, 2015 at 8:22 am

This looks like a fantastic book and we would love a copy.
Lola and Lexy recently posted…#SundaySelfies From My BoxMy Profile

Create With Joy September 20, 2015 at 3:25 am

That looks like one awesome book!
Create With Joy recently posted…The Finishing School by Valerie Woerner – Book ReviewMy Profile

Buddy Budd September 19, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Not sure if I left a comment but I know we would LOVE a copy of Fat Cat Art. He really is a handsome fellow and the photos are simply to purr fur
Timmy
Buddy Budd recently posted…Arrr tis Meow Like a Pirate Day Me Kitties!My Profile

Canadian Cats September 18, 2015 at 4:15 pm

I’m leaving a second post…just in case I get more chances.

Shoko
Canadian Cats recently posted…Thursday’s HappeningsMy Profile

Cleopawtra (Becca Cook) September 17, 2015 at 4:42 pm

My daddy would love this book, he minored in art history. And my orange brother will think he’s looking at himself in the book. Even though he’s a skinny 1 year old.

Timmy Tomcat September 17, 2015 at 3:22 pm

I would love to win this for Dad. Nothing like a big handsome Marmalade!
Timmy
Timmy Tomcat recently posted…Mr Buttons Needs Purrs and PrayersMy Profile

Cleopawtra (Becca Cook) September 16, 2015 at 11:02 pm

My Daddy would love this book, he minored in art history. Thanks for the giveaway.

Canadian Cats September 16, 2015 at 9:23 pm

I love the art with the ginger kitty. Now this is my type of art. I would like you to enter my naaaaaame into the randomizer and I will gift the book to someone in the US. You kitties that want this lovely book can kiss my paws. MOL

(((Shoko)))
Canadian Cats recently posted…Wednesday’s Wordy As….. Hi There!My Profile

Kjelle Bus aka Charlie Rascal September 16, 2015 at 5:36 pm

To bad I live on the “wrong” side of the pond 🙁

XOXO
Kjelle Bus aka Charlie Rascal recently posted…Ingen ordlös onsdag precis 🙂 / Not a wordless wednesday 🙂My Profile

Michele September 16, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Such a fun looking book!!! Will definitely have to check it out. Thxs

Cats of Wildcat Woods September 16, 2015 at 10:57 am

Very cool cat book – we have quite a collection too.
Cats of Wildcat Woods recently posted…Treat Yourself to a Cat Lady BoxMy Profile

McGuffy's Reader September 15, 2015 at 11:51 pm

I have been anxious to get ahold of this book! It looks great! ♥
McGuffy’s Reader recently posted…This SummerMy Profile

Ellen Pilch September 15, 2015 at 10:52 pm

That looks like a cute book, but that poor kitty is at an unhealthy weight.

donna September 15, 2015 at 8:42 pm

The book looks like a great read and a book to share with my granddaughter

Emma and Buster September 15, 2015 at 8:20 pm

LOL worthy post.
Emma and Buster recently posted…Wordless WednesdayMy Profile

Linda Arthur Tejera September 15, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Omigosh, that fat cat looks like my Freckles. You’ve probably seen him on some of my posts! What a neat book! I’d love to have it! We’ll see! 😀
Linda Arthur Tejera recently posted…Cee’s Odd Ball Photo ChallengeMy Profile

Melissa, Mudpie & Angel Truffles September 15, 2015 at 6:35 pm

That book looks absolutely adorable!
Melissa, Mudpie & Angel Truffles recently posted…Kellie Needs a Forever Home!My Profile

Flynn September 15, 2015 at 6:26 pm

That is a beautiful book. I love those paintings.
Flynn recently posted…Sunday Selfie and an Update.My Profile

LP September 15, 2015 at 5:41 pm

We can see how your Mama would think it was a bit “sacrilegious”…ours kinda does too. She also felt that way when , Les Miserables, came out as a broadway musical… But we bet this book is really fun and silly. We also have a ginger cat named Angel Leo who would no doubt also see the humour in it ! 🙂

the critters in the cottage xo

Robin September 15, 2015 at 5:05 pm

I love this! Please enter me in the giveaway! These images are priceless. It is definitely a cat’s world. 🙂
Robin recently posted…The Truth About Cats and RabiesMy Profile

Vera September 15, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Hmmm… this magnificent cat is more beautiful than any of the paintings… now please an album just for him!

The Swiss Cats September 15, 2015 at 2:30 pm

That sounds like a great book ! We love the idea of photoshopping famous paintings ! Purrs
The Swiss Cats recently posted…Chat policierMy Profile

Cathy Keisha September 15, 2015 at 11:30 am

Whoa! I’m glad that’s the person who has the website I’ve been admiring for months. For a second, I thought she ripped off the images. Whew! That book sounds wonderful and TW is a fan of fat cats, having loving Nicky.

PS: “Antanomy” was the word I writ and the humans weren’t allowed to change it. As a cat I sometime butcher words—or so they say—but at least I don’t speak baby talk.
Cathy Keisha recently posted…Let’s Get This Pawty Started A Day EarlyMy Profile

Cat Scout Charles September 15, 2015 at 11:14 am

Oh My …. That is a LARGE kitty. We love art in our house. May of us fur kids have tried our hand at doing it.
Hugs to all and of course lots & lots of kisses to my love Ms Lisbeth
Scout Charles

Caren Gittleman September 15, 2015 at 9:53 am

We just wanted to vouch for how great that book is (we reviewed it a few months ago) and whomever wins it is going to LOVE IT! Great review!
catchatwithcarenandcody
Caren Gittleman recently posted…L’Shana Tova:Happy Jewish “Mew” YearMy Profile

LadyBird September 15, 2015 at 9:42 am

We loves this book and we would love to win! This is Toby for LadyBird, as she is indisposed today!!
LadyBird recently posted…It’s my Owie Day!My Profile

Sammy September 15, 2015 at 7:09 am

We’ve seen a lot of photos of some of the artwork in this totally adorable book and think it’s one of the CUTEST and most creative things we’ve seen in AGES. We’d love to win a copy of it………..what a wonderful giveaway!

Love, Sammy and Mom Pam
Sammy recently posted…Pre-Tease MondayMy Profile

Chuck Huss September 15, 2015 at 6:56 am

Those examples are great. If the rest of the book is that good, which I assume it is, it would surely be worth buying.
Chuck Huss recently posted…Photo Friday: Kitten BellyMy Profile

The Island Cats September 15, 2015 at 6:45 am

We think this book is great! We would love a copy.
The Island Cats recently posted…Paws Up for True Science PetAction™ Plus and Delightibles!My Profile

lorraine williamson September 15, 2015 at 6:45 am

frankie and I love art. He tries to sit on my journal pages all the time. He can look at the pics and enjoy seeing other cats with art. thanks for the drawing
lorraine williamson recently posted…Caturday Art-Racoon Markings KittyMy Profile

Sue September 15, 2015 at 4:07 am

I love this! Petrova is a genius!

prancer pie September 15, 2015 at 3:01 am

Heh-heh, this book looks pawsome!
prancer pie recently posted…Catio Girls – Tuxie TuesdayMy Profile

Pipo/Minko/MrJackFreckles September 15, 2015 at 2:53 am

That sounds like a truly hilarious book!

Meowmy saw a huge ginger kitty who came to visit his human…and it was a she kitty, OMC!

Summer September 15, 2015 at 1:16 am

My human and I think this book is hilarious!
Summer recently posted…Cat Show Success!My Profile

Linda Szymoniak September 15, 2015 at 1:13 am

We’re both lovers of cats and lover of art at our house. This would be a perfect addition to our library and would also make a perfect coffee table book!

Alegria September 15, 2015 at 12:54 am

My ginger cat, El Dorado, would love to win this book so he can admire the paintings that his “cousins” are in. He thinks his brofer, the tuxie El Guapo, will be jealous.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: