CHEWY REVIEW: PRIMAL TREATS

by Janet Blue on October 15, 2015

Primal Beef Liver Munchies

We finally nagged and whined at Mom enough to get her to select something good from Chewy.com for this month’s product testing. We kept seeing all our friends try out food and treats and lounger/scratchers and other good stuff. But our mom kept selecting litter and cleaning products to try. Pffft! And we heard she was going to try litter again this month until she read reviews that said it was super dusty.

So we finally scored some noms. Mom selected Primal Treats for our taste test. These treats are for both woofies and kitties. They are freeze-dired treats, which we usually love. The ones we received were Beef Liver Munchies made from antibiotic-free beef raised without added hormones. The treats have no added salt or sugar, no preservatives and are grain and gluten free. The Munchies are quite obviously healthy treats.

When Mom said treats, we all came running and were gathered around the kitchen as she opened the Chewy box. Dad sat ready with the camera as she doled out these rather large treats. Both Lisbeth and Astrid licked at a couple and picked them up in their mouths but didn’t try to eat them. Fiona and Giulietta (the finicky girls), sniffed and walked away. Lily and Mauricio didn’t seem to mind the large size. Lily ate one and Mauricio ate two but neither wanted more. Calista Jo licked at a couple and after Mom cut them into much smaller pieces, she ate about one and a half and walked away. Misty May was upstairs and didn’t try any.

 

primal

 

After the official testing, Astrid started pawing at and trying to get into the bag. Mom took out another one of the Munchies and cut it up into small pieces. Astrid watched attentively but only pawed at the pieces when Mom put them in front of her. She did not eat any.

Mom thinks our problem with the treats was 1) size (they really are more a size for the woofies), and 2) we don’t eat a lot of beef. We prefer chicken and tuna. Primal makes a variety of treats, and the Munchies also come in turkey liver which we may have liked better.

In conclusion, three of the seven who tried these found them yummy. The others not so much.

primal

Disclaimer: We’d like to thank Chewy.com for the opportunity to taste test the Primal Treats Beef Liver Munchies as part of their Blogger Outreach Program. We received the treats for free in return for our honest review. The opinions expressed are strictly those of Kitties Blue.

My Pet Human Giveaway

mypethumanIf you have not entered our giveaway for the adorable book, My Pet Human, written and illustrated by Yasmine Surovec, it’s not too late. To read the review and leave a comment for the opportunity to receive a copy, click here. Comments must be received by Friday, October 16, at 5 p.m. EDT.

Purrs and paw-pats, Lily Olivia, Mauricio, Misty May, Giulietta, Fiona, Astrid, Lisbeth and Calista Jo

 

Share this:
PepiSmartDog October 22, 2015 at 1:27 am

PepiSmartDog: we LOVE product reviews. What a great review too you did – great photos and really liked your honesty with the product. I have 3 kitteh-sibs and your right, kittehs can be very finicky.
Thank you for joining our Thankful Thursday Blog Hop. We love your posts and always enjoy reading them. Hope to see you back in our hop this week too. *waves paw* :=o)

Linda Arthur Tejera October 16, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Thanks for the review. I’ll have to try them. My kitties are so finicky, I never know what they’re going to like! I think I’d have to go with the chicken! 🙂
Linda Arthur Tejera recently posted…Nurturing ThursdayMy Profile

Cathy Keisha October 15, 2015 at 10:19 pm

I don’t do freeze dried or beef so I agree with your clowder on this one.
Cathy Keisha recently posted…Blogging the Change for Adoptable CatsMy Profile

Sometimes Cats Herd You October 15, 2015 at 7:39 pm

We loved the treats we had from primal, but they were chicken. (Ashton insisted.)
Sometimes Cats Herd You recently posted…Your Cat Isn’t Going To Make You CrazyMy Profile

Jan K October 15, 2015 at 6:55 pm

The dogs have tried Primal treats, but Samantha has not. She’s a fussy one though, so she’d probably be with the majority here. She’s always trying to steal the dog treats though, so maybe if I didn’t tell her they were for cats too? 🙂
Jan K recently posted…Grooming Tools for Every Dog & Cat #GoPets (& Giveaway)My Profile

Deziz World October 15, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Oh No da one time yous get to twy tweats and yous not like ’em. Dat’s not wight, just not wight at all. Weez not like da fureeze dwied liver stuffs and da beef ones awe usually so hawrd yous have to have da mouff of a jackhammer to bite into them. But, weez actually twyn’ out da litter this mumff. MOL Weez’ll let ya’ knmow how it goes shortly. Better luck next mumff.

Luv ya’

Dezi and Lexi
Deziz World recently posted…Inspection Over, We’re Marching OnMy Profile

Ellen Pilch October 15, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Still not bad, almost half of you liked them. 🙂 You won our pink giveaway so I guess you are the kitties blue in the pink 🙂 I will ship it out tomorrow, I think I have your address.
Ellen Pilch recently posted…Purr Pack ReviewMy Profile

Brian Frum October 15, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Yep, some do, some don’t. Great review though!!!
Brian Frum recently posted…Thankful Thursday: Special Days Are Great RemindersMy Profile

jansfunnyfarm October 15, 2015 at 2:08 pm

You just never know which cat will like a product. Sometimes we surprise Jan.
jansfunnyfarm recently posted…My Better SideMy Profile

Annabelle October 15, 2015 at 1:00 pm

We’ll have to check those out. Sound really yummie!!!
Great post and review.
Annabelle recently posted…#TBTMy Profile

The Island Cats October 15, 2015 at 6:49 am

We’ve tried these treats too and found the size to be a problem for us. The mom tries to break them up into smaller pieces, but they’re not easy to break.
The Island Cats recently posted…What’s That Wally Doing?My Profile

Hannah and Lucy October 15, 2015 at 3:47 am

We hadn’t heard of those treats before but as they were beef we wouldn’t have eaten them anyway.
Luv Hannah and Lucy xx xx

Sue October 15, 2015 at 3:24 am

I love reading a super honest review!
Believe it or not, my three like real chicken sometimes as a treat but they actually go crazy over tuna and shrimp! But my cats all have weight problems so they don’t get treats all the time.

prancer pie October 15, 2015 at 2:45 am

Oh yessss, you can never go wrong with chick-hen or tuna flavors! Our favorites, too!
prancer pie recently posted…Thursday ThreesomeMy Profile

Pipo/Minko/MrJackFreckles October 15, 2015 at 2:39 am

We nevfur have heard of that kind of treat!

We do not seem to like any treats though…mostly we do the sniff and stalk off thing, MOL!

Summer October 15, 2015 at 1:20 am

I love the Primal treats I’ve had, but I think they were freeze-dried turkey.
Summer recently posted…I Give Mirror Kitty a Talking To!My Profile

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: